Put HDD w/ lion in core 2 duo 2.0 MacBook ?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Ant.honey, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. Ant.honey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I'm getting a MBP tomorrow and replacing the existing HDD w an SSD. My fiancé's 2006 (?) Core 2 Duo 2.0ghz needs more space badly. Can I just drop the HDD from my MBP into it and go from there - create user and restore apps and such from Time Machine backup?
     
  2. Ant.honey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    FYI, the MacBook is currently running Leopard.
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    You won't be able to do a TM restore if you're on different versions of the OS, but you should be able to do it manually.
     
  4. Ant.honey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Really? That sucks. Will I have to reinstall all of the apps then?
     
  5. Vantage Point macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    Take the HDD from the new MBP, Erase it, then use Carbon Copy Cloner to make a clone from the MB drive. Then swap drives and you'll be good to go. Then erase that old MB drive and use it as a backup. There is no need to use TM and that would take much longer. Cloning to a bigger drive is fast and easy - that's how I did it with mine
     
  6. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    Migration assistant will import the data from a Time Machine backup.
     
  7. Ant.honey thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I want to use Lion on the MB. The drive
    From the MBP will have Lion preinstalled.
     

Share This Page