Putting a rogers sim card in an iPhone,

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by JR7361, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. JR7361 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #1
    i have a Motorola Razr v31 and i have 2 years on my contract. my phone is broken and i am getting an iphone used. i believe it is unlocked. i would like to know if i can put the SIM card (rogers) into the iphone, and if not unlocked how can i do so? anyone help please?
     
  2. Oskee2001 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
  3. d7sdavid macrumors newbie

    d7sdavid

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    Dartmouth N.S.
    #3
    Putting A sim card in a Rogers phone

    You can easily put the card in but make sure you have a data plan or your bill will go through the roof. When I bought my iPhone , The sim out of my old phone slipped right in. Once again just confirm you have a data plan as the charges through Rogers will be very expensive.
     
  4. neesh0 macrumors 6502a

    neesh0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #4
    it will work as long as it is unlocked, just make sure you do not restore or update, otherwise you will have to unlock it again.
     
  5. ipodcreations macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #5
    iphone 3G

    but if you get your iphone and its not unlocked how do you unlock it ? help please
     
  6. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #6
    Read the stickies and the guides on these forums for all the info and software you need.

    Just to shorten your research:
    1. If your phone is on firmware 2.2.1 your only option is to buy a piggy-back SIM, or wait a few months
    2. If it's on 2.2.0 or earlier then follow the guides to unlock it with YellowSn0w
     

Share This Page