Putting AT&T Motherboard into Verizon iPhone 5 Possible?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bwerner25, Jun 16, 2014.

  1. bwerner25, Jun 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2014

    bwerner25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Just received an iPhone 5 off eBay that wont come out of DFU mode because of error 2001. It appears to be a Verizon model instead of an AT&T as the seller listed. Does anyone know if there is going to be any problem putting my AT&T motherboard into this phone to get it up and working?

    I tried fixing the error to restore the phone, but to no avail.
     
  2. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
  3. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #3
    Lots of teeny screws there. Aren't the Verizon radios different from the ATT radios on the 5? Are the radios completely contained on the board he's changing out? What about the antennas?
     
  4. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #4
    I would think the ATT and VZW cases are the same, so if OP has access to a new motherboard it should fit.
     
  5. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #5

    Current gen iPhones are the same for all carriers. All have gsm and CDMA radios.
     
  6. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #6
    Yes but the iPhone 5 believe did have actual hardware differences between some carries.
     
  7. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #7

    No, that was the 4.
     
  8. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #8
    OK you made me look it up:

    http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/


    (scroll down to iPhone 5)


    ATT version has hardware for different LTE bands. Elsewhere I've read the actual hardware radios were different. What I'm not sure about is whether the antennas or connectors to the antennas were different.

    Even current 5c/5s have different hardware for different areas of the world where they are sold.

    Only current retina iPads have all the same hardware and pretty much contain all the LTE bands.

    So we still don't have an answer for the above poster. Maybe someone who has done/tried the swap can chime in.
     
  9. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    The antennas are specifically what I am concerned about. I know both motherboards have the same set screws and I've replaced my housing/frame before so I'm fully capable of doing the exchange myself. However it will take probably an hour and a half so if it doesn't work out it'll feel like a waste.

    I guess I should disclose that I have a somewhat operational AT&T iPhone 5 that I'm pulling the motherboard out of. If I need to keep the antennas from that phone I can. Unfortunately those are probably the only good parts left on the phone.

    I got a good deal on the phone and am confident I can get my money back on it as it's in great shape. But it's super hard to find a non-iCloud locked or non-water damaged iPhones for a good price on eBay so I would really like to use this one if at all possible.

    ----------

    Do you think the motherboards send out different bands/frequencies through the same antennas? I was really hoping this would be the case.
     
  10. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #10
    I think OrangeSVT just did this. I know he switched the logic board, not sure about the carrier change.
     
  11. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    I found this video on Youtube. http://youtu.be/Rl-OmkeATUo

    The guy switches out a Sprint logic board for an AT&T one. But sprint has their own CDMA iPhone 5 right?
     
  12. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #12
    If Sprint<>ATT swap works I'd say it's a 99% chance OPs swap will work! GO FOR IT OP!!! Let us know the result :)
     
  13. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #13
    I will check back when I complete it for sure. It'll be a week until I can get back to my tools.
     
  14. theapplefanboyj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    #14
    Doesn't the Verizon version already have support for GSM?
     
  15. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Yes. But I don't believe you can use an AT&T sim in one because they don't support the right frequencies. I think it's mainly unlocked for GSM for overseas use.
     
  16. AxoNeuron macrumors 65816

    AxoNeuron

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Location:
    The Left Coast
    #16
    If I remember correctly, the Verizon iphone 5 was unlocked by default, Verizon never locked them due to legal stuff, and would work with any SIM card you put in it. That said, I highly, highly doubt that this would work.

    This is the 300,000th reason to NEVER buy a used iPhone. There are a TON of different issues that come up. Activation lock, carrier lock, possibility that the device is stolen and blocked from activation, doesn't turn on, damage, or any other of the 5,000 different misrepresentations that (some) low-life scumbag sellers will say just to make a quick buck.
     
  17. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    But I had planned to put my AT&T motherboard in there regardless. Just thought it would be AT&T as the seller described.

    I knew the phone had issues when I bought it. I passed on buying many a iCloud/ IMEI locked phones because I know they are most likely stolen. Hell I even text a girl letting her know that her phone was on eBay because the dumbass put the iCloud screen up with the number.

    However, I knew this one was stuck in DFU mode and confirmed with the seller it wasn't stolen.

    And never buy a used iPhone? Sorry but some people don't have 600 to drop on a phone. And I'm not using Next because I have an unlimited plan and it would cost me well over 400 a year and I would have to turn in the phone at my next upgrade.

    Sure there are bad people out there that sell used iPhone's that are stolen or misrepresented. But that's like anything being sold on craigslist or eBay. If you're a smart buyer and research you learn how to spot a bad product and a poor seller.

    I took a $80 dollar risk and I know I can get my money back or more selling it for parts.
     
  18. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #18
    Just finished the transplant from phone 1 to phone 2. Everything is working. Seems like I need to replace the battery however as the phone is cutting of randomly about every 7-8 minutes and percentage isn't changing correctly. Could be water damage but I doubt it. It had just started doing this yesterday before I had done anything to phone 1.
     
  19. iolinux333 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    #19

    Some days the god of electrons just hates you. Thanks for reporting back on the swap though, I was super curious as to whether all the bits would line up.
     
  20. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #20
    It should work since ur switching apples to apples anyways. All ur really doing is changing the shell granted ur only changing cases and swap every component over. Good luck
     
  21. Keeranrice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    #21


    Hey sorry to bother you I was just wondering what was the solution ? Did you end up having to switch the antennas as well or did swapping the logic board alone work fine for you when swapping logic boards between carriers ?
     
  22. bwerner25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #22
    Pm'd you
     

Share This Page