Putting Windows 7 on RMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Free Ale, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. Free Ale macrumors member

    Free Ale

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys,
    I made the transfer to the RMBP and I love it. I didn't really think about using bootcamp to add Windows 7, but I could get windows 7 professional or ultimate for free. (My girlfriends college gives various free software)

    First, what exactly is the difference in windows 7 pro and ultimate?

    Second, if I downloaded the file would it be a Mac readable .iso? Then, I would have to put it onto a usb, but how big would it have to be? Finally, just follow the rules inside the bootcamp app.

    If I missed anything, please tell me. Thank you.
     
  2. jcpb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #2
    Ultimate allows you to change the operating system's default language.

    For most practical purposes, Home Premium will suffice and is a lot cheaper to boot.
     
  3. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #3
    You can start here to figure out which version you would prefer. :)

    I don't bootcamp. I run Fusion (Parallels works well too. My school offers Parallels for free, but I needed Fusion to set up Visual Studio and SQL Server.)

    With Fusion or Parallels, you can connect the image to the virtual machine and install from there, without even having to burn a disc.

    Different schools have different ways of installing software, so your experience may be a bit different.

    Is there a reason why you want to use bootcamp instead of running Windows in a virtual machine? I hardly ever run Windows, but when I do (and sometimes I have no choice), I run it in Fusion.
     
  4. gokart mozart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #4
    Gaming. Less RAM intensive than running Windows in a virtual machine.;)
     
  5. redwarrior macrumors 603

    redwarrior

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    in the Dawg house
    #5
    Oh absolutely. :) Both of those don't matter that much to me because I don't game, and I prefer the ability to switch between OS's seamlessly.

    He definitely needs to think about why he is going to run Windows so that he will know which version to get and how he needs to install it.
     
  6. Free Ale thread starter macrumors member

    Free Ale

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #6
    For gaming primarily.
     
  7. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #7
    I have Windows installed in BootCamp and then run that Installation on Parallels!

    I mainly use it to run Console Emulators that are not available / don't work as well on Mac.

    You should also look into Crossover / WineSkin / PlayOnMac as Windows alternatives as you may be able to run your games without even needing to install Windows!
     
  8. kamran9558 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #8
    can you guys tell me how much space does windows 7 take using bootcamp??
     
  9. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #9
    However much you tell it to.

    Not 100% sure how much Windows only, takes up though!
     
  10. psykick5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #10
    I use a 35GB partition and I've still got space left
     
  11. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #11
    16-20GB.

    Bootcamp default is 32GB, you can split or adjust to your own liking from there.
     
  12. Free Ale thread starter macrumors member

    Free Ale

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #12
    Okay guys,
    Thanks for all of the comments. But I am still wondering, if i download the file and it is a .iso, can i just put it onto a flash drive and then be able to install it?
     
  13. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #13
    The Bootcamp Assistant software will take the .iso file and convert it into the format it needs, and write it to a Flash Drive.

    Be warned, the flash drive will be formatted before being used by Bootcamp Assistant.

    If you are using Parallels or VMWare, you can run the .iso from anywhere.
     
  14. Free Ale thread starter macrumors member

    Free Ale

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #14
    Wait, does the flash drive get reformatted before, or after the process begins. If it gets reformatted after, how does the file stay.. because I mounted it?
     
  15. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #15
    1. Save the .iso file somewhere on your Mac (Desktop).
    2. Run BootCamp Assistant.
    3. Insert the USB Drive you want to use.
    4. Point BootCamp Assistant to your .iso file, BootCamp Assistant will then format your USB drive. It will then extract the files it needs from your .iso and write them to the USB Drive.

    The .iso will be exactly the same as it was when you started, it will not be altered in anyway, but the necessary files will be written to the USB Stick.

    Hope that makes more sense!

    Stewart
     
  16. dccorona macrumors 68020

    dccorona

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    #16
    Software development. Definitely want to do that native, until (and if ever) you're ready to start testing in a vm

    OP, it's worth noting that bootcamp will work with upgrades of windows. you don't need to buy a full version
     
  17. Drask macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    #17
    Do you know how big does the USB drive needs to be?
     
  18. StuMcBill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #18
    I *think* it recommends 8GB.
     
  19. GoSooners macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #19
    I did this last night, even copied the Windows Support drivers on there and it used just under 4GB
     
  20. gokart mozart macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #20
    Wholeheartedly agree. If he needs Windows to run a RAM intensive application of some sort, I think he's better off with bootcamp. Anything else could probably be handled more conveniently by a virtual machine.


    Bootcamp + whichever version of Windows 7 takes up the least amount of drive space. After all, for just gaming you want to live in OSX but play in Win7. This would probably be the pro version, iirc. Home version may be even smaller, but you only listed the pro and ultimate. It has been awhile since I looked at the different versions, but that info is easily found on the web under the system requirements for each version (and I believe someone already posted a relevant link).
     
  21. Soccer5se macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    South Korea
    #21
    I've read you can install windows on an external with Parallels 7. I am getting the rMBP with the 256 SSD, so I would like to save as much space as possible.
    My question is can I install Windows 7 (Using Parallels 7) now on to an external HDD then use that in my rMBP next week?

    Thanks

    Rich
     
  22. eagandale4114, Jul 16, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012

    eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #22
    You can't boot into windows via USB. However thunderbolt can although it will be expensive.

    EDIT:
    More info http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1351547
     
  23. ACiB708 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    #23

    Definitely want to do sw development natively? I have the base MBPr with 16GB RAM, I run Win7 with Parallels I assigned 8GB of RAM to the virtual machine, and 4 of the 8 "cores" chose the faster virtual machine option and use Windows with Eclipse, and pretty heavy JCreator projects, all while running things like the iOS emulator and sometimes Dreamweaver on the Mac side ALL without any slow down, it runs perfectly. The ONLY reason to use Boot Camp would be not wanting to spend money on Parallels (in which case you can use free VM software such as Oracle's Virtualbox) or doing some pretty heavy Windows-only graphics work, or gaming. You're wrong about your development statement.
     
  24. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #24
    Yes, you can run your VM from an external drive. I do it regularly from a USB drive.

    Yes, you can install it now. When you want to move it to the new machine, make sure the VM is shutdown, not paused, and it will ask when you start for the first time on the new machine if the VM has been moved or copied.
     
  25. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #25
    Watch out for hibernation. If you want to be able to shut the lid of your windows machine that's another 8 or 16gb. I have an 80 gb boot camp partition with 35 gb free after installing chrome, steam, and MSE
     

Share This Page