Puzzled.... MP4.1 died after Win10 upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HHarm, Aug 8, 2015.

  1. HHarm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    Currently my MP4.1 isn't working at all (neither OSX 10.10 or Windows 10). Any help is appreciated!

    Here's what happened:

    I had Windows 8.1 on a separate external SSD that was connected to an Accelsior E2 with eSata. When needed I started the Windows by manually selecting it from the boot menu (holding down the option key during startup).

    Before the upgrade to Windows 10 I removed my OSX SSD (the Accelsior) and all the HDD's containing my data. I then moved the Windows SSD into one of the internal SATA bays. I did this to make sure that no matter what happens the OSX side and my data would be safe.

    The upgrade went smoothly and Windows 10 worked as expected.

    I then proceeded to returning all the SSD's and HDD's into their original places. After this nothing has worked, not OSX or Windows. No matter what I do the screen stays black and there is no startup chime. The MP is not totally dead as the power led lights up and the fans startup. If there is a DVD in the drive it starts spinning. I can't do a PRAM reset or any kind of recovery as I don't get to the chime.

    I have tried different drive combinations (just the OSX drive, just the Win10 drive, only the DVD, no drives) but nothing has helped. I tried using an older GPU (HD3870) I tried the GPU in another PCI bay and I've tried using a different monitor. I have stripped the machine of all extra cards and connections leaving the MP with just the power cable, DVI and keyboard. I took out the three memory modules and with one in turn I tried using single a module to rule out faulty memory.

    At this point I have tried everything I can think of and I have no idea what the problem is. Any ideas?


    My setup:
    - MP4.1 upgraded to 5.1
    - W3690
    - 680GTX Mac Edition
    - 24 GB of RAM
    - Accelsior E2 480 GB for OSX, 2 x 3 TB HDD for data and backup, Crucial m4 256GB for Windows
    - Inateck KT4004 USB3 card
     
  2. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #2
    AFAIK if there it no chime then the machine isn't passing POST. Remove everything (RAM, GPU, HDDs etc) and go from there. You should start getting error codes and stuff. There are diag lights on the mobo that can help too.
     
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
  4. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #4
    That's a lot of hardware. I also stripped my machine for the install and then added back one component at a time.
     
  5. HHarm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #5
    Hopefully not....

    I found the diagnostic button and the leds next to it. (if there are others I didn't find them)

    With or without the GPU, RAM and drives I get the following diagnostic lights:

    (as the texts and leds don't align for the lower row of leds I'm assuming that the text corresponding to the led is higher)

    PSU PWROK green
    SV STBY orange/yellow
    SYS PG green
    EFI DONE green
    GPU OK green

    No other leds light up.

    The lights come up directly after pressing the power button. If the power is off but the power cable is plugged the SV STBY is orange/yellow.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    These DIAG LED shows everything normal (same as my case) , however, that means the CPU tray still possible faulty. :(
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    Unplug the machine. Let it rest for a while. Go back to the simple Windows hardware config. If it boots up that means machine is OK just one of the hardware components probably wasn't connected right.
     
  8. HHarm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #8
    I retried that but as expected the MP stays dead.

    Looks like I'll take the MP to a repair shop next week. Hopefully this can be fixed with with reasonable cost.

    Times like these really highlight that Apple has no new system to offer me that would cater to my need of good (enough) performance/price ratio combined with expandability.
     
  9. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #9
    Makes me worry as I have a similarly complex machine and Win10 is randomly crashing, halting or locking. Everything was fine in 8.1
     
  10. HHarm thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #10
    Writing this from my Mac Pro!

    I took the MP to a repair center and luckily the problem was easily solved. Removing the battery helped (and after that PRAM reset). So I ended up paying for something that I could have done myself but of course I'm more than happy that there was nothing broken and the cost was low.
     
  11. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #11
    Never seen myself that SMC was reset if the power button was not also pressed when unplugged. Use to be and maybe still is but moved? where the mobo reset button is located. Every PC has one and the 1,1/2,1 definitely do.
     

Share This Page