puzzling download

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jacotte33, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. Jacotte33 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I just experienced something puzzling... I was reading some comment on one forum when I noticed the blue arrow or downloading showing up in the upper right corner of my screen. :eek:

    I wasn't touching anything or trying to change page or what ever... I was just reading!!!

    I went to my download folder and found a zip file that was indeed downloaded a couple of mn ago... it was called iasn_E.mp3 and was over 645MB!
    Needless to say, I dumped it without un-zipping.

    Can anyone explain to me what happened? ... and how can I prevent it from happening again.

    Thank you in advance
    Good day to all
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Go into your browser setting and uncheck open safe downloads. Plus if you are really worried then scan you Mac with the free donationware Adware Medic and scan it.

    Then consider changing your DNS settings to OpenDns and set it to block know Trojan hosting sites.
     
  3. Jacotte33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #3
    Thank you so much for your suggestions... will do.

    Have a good day/night which ever the case may be.
     
  4. Jacotte33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #4
    Hi again,

    I just downloaded AdwareMedic... but I am having some problem.
    For some reason, I can't drag it into the Application folder. This is what I get when I click on it:

    [​IMG]

    What am I doing wrong?
    Thanks for your answer.
     
  5. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    Try dragging it manuall your your own Applications folder. It might have a bad alias link.
     
  6. Jacotte33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #6
    Same thing... now it says that the application cannot be opened because the alias cannot be found.
    I just don't get it. I downloaded it from the site for which you put the link.
     
  7. Jacotte33 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    #7
    :eek: lolll I just answered my own question...

    AdwareMedic requires a Mac running Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion) or later.

    I am running a Mac OS X 10.6.8 - that's why! duh!!! :(

    I guess I'll have to find another malware removal to run.
     
  8. CrickettGrrrl macrumors 6502a

    CrickettGrrrl

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    B'more or Less
    #8
    There are instructions on theSafeMac.com on how to check manually. I used them for a friend's Mac on Snow Leopard earlier this week. Didn't take very long at all to do, considering it wasn't push-button.
     

Share This Page