Pwnage 2.0 using both mac and windows

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by SheepNutz, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. SheepNutz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #1
    Here's a quick question. I use a windows PC to sync and backup my iPhone, so I used my wife's macbook to make the custom firmware in pwnage 2.0. Can I just put that custom firmware on my windows PC and manually put my phone into DFU mode and do the custom restore?
     
  2. nalk7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #2
    ive never done it, but it sounds possible. I would give it a try. Just remember to pwn ur iphone before restoring it
     
  3. SheepNutz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #3
    I don't think it's gonna work, because I tried to do my old 2G iPhone first so I can unlock it and sell it, but for some reason the pwnage software keeps getting to a screen saying "failed to put phone in DFU mode" and then it tries to start the whole process over again. I've tried doing that with the phone already in DFU mode, and still can't get the custom restore to work in iTunes (error 6). I'll just wait for a windows solution.
     
  4. Rovman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Why not just use itunes on the mac to install the firmware, then continue syncing it with the windows pc as normal?

    However i see no problem with it working. The firmwares are unique to the iphone and don't differ between the windows and mac versions of itunes, so yes it should work fine.
     
  5. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #5
    in theory it should work fine. you're pwning it on your mac. the changes will have already been made to the phone then you're just using a pc to put the pre-compiled image onto the already modified phone. i haven't done it, but it sounds perfectly logical.
     
  6. tabakishinado macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    #6
    i say... think twice.
    i made my firmware on a mac, then restored it on my pc.
    it works while in itunes, but then after installation, the apple logo boots up for a few seconds, then restarts again.
    btw i had a 1.1.4 pwned iphone before i did that so yeah.
    nevertheless it brings up lots of drama afterwards too (for details see here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=526606)
    so now I restored it back to original 2.0 firmware and it went perfect. Now I'm locked out, so think twice before you decide to do that because I did it and these things happen.

    Hope my advice helps.
     

Share This Page