PWNage tool 2.0.3 bug already?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by edtorious, Aug 25, 2008.

  1. edtorious macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #1
    is it just me or anybody else having trouble with the Iphone mail settings after the jailbreak using pwnage tool 2.0.3? I just jailbroken my 3G Iphone using the tool for Mac. Everything went fine except for some reason if I try to manually put the password on my .mac account in Iphone, it won't save it! and it goes for all my other mail account i.e. Yahoo. I'm going to try and redo the jailbreaking again and hopefully it will work next time.
     
  2. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #2
    Yes it is a bug.

    I am sure it will be fixed in the next few hours.

    It is to do with the permissions. There may be a manual fix but you will have to wait for it.

    I think the best solution is to either just survive without e-mail and don't bother re-syncing or restore back to 2.0.1.

    Its middle of the night here so I am going to leave it as it is and go to bed and hope that when I wake up there is a solution!
     
  3. edtorious thread starter macrumors 65816

    edtorious

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, California
    #3
    oh ok,:) I guess I'm not going to bother redoing the jailbreak again then. I'll just wait. I guess i'll just keep testing other cydia and installer for now and see if everthing else works. :D
     
  4. paj macrumors regular

    paj

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    The same is true for my wifi password. I'm in the middle of restoring back to 2.0.1 now. :rolleyes:
     
  5. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
  6. ucsdmac macrumors 6502

    ucsdmac

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #6
    ditto. Couldn't remember wi-fi password. Restored back to 2.0.1 and its fine.
     
  7. freediverdude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    #7
    I've just found that if you put in the wifi password under Settings- General- Network that it remembers it, instead of Settings- Wifi or in Safari when it asks for it.

    Edit- scratch that. It remembers it like once or twice, then back to incorrect password prompt.
     
  8. ian-frs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Location:
    Jax
    #8
    Set up as a new phone instead of restoring from a back up. That worked for me.
     
  9. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #9
    didnt work for me.
    oh well. i dont really mind that much.
     
  10. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #10
    From a user comment on the dev team blog...

    "The Password storage issue can be fixed by installing OpenSSH and applying a chmod of 0777 to /var/Keychains. This will allow the passwords to be stored to the Keychain database."

    I make no claims about veracity of this post, the poster, the postee, Post Toastees, etc.
     
  11. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #11
    I can validate this post. This fixed the bug for me.
    I used this method with Fugu (mac version of OpenSSH) and by fixing permissions to 777, all the password saves.
     
  12. jk111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    #12
    Confirmed

    I can also confirm that changing the permissions on /var/Keychains to 777 does work.
     
  13. CADer macrumors 6502

    CADer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    #13
    Not too sure if this is related I will post back in a few with more results (good ones hopefully) I can't set my WI-FI to static?! I use the same static address as before but this time when I set it the wifi icon disappears and the phone only uses edge!
    I made the changes as described above and will post if this helps as soon as my phone turns back on.
     
  14. Rotara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    London UK
    #14
    Does this correct the 'Passcode' problem? i.e. being able to set a passcode?

    It doesn't seem to work at the moment, which means the handset is not secure and the iPhone contains a helluvalot of personal details, which is worrying.
     
  15. JamboUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #15
    Anyone willing to post a set of more detailed instructions on how to do this?
     
  16. Rotara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    London UK
    #16
    Dev Team Working on Update

    I've just read on another forum the Dev Team are currently working on fixing these issues. How many of the issues will be addressed is hard to say. But I've just performed a 'check for update' on my Pwnage Tool 2.0.3 and it has returned a network error which means they've probably disabled the update feature until they sort this out. Considering the 2.0.3 Tool was only just released I'm pretty sure too many of us aren't affected. I would therefore suggest that we avoid propagating the 2.0.3 Tool until there's definitive workarounds in place or the Dev Team release a patch / update etc.
     
  17. JamboUK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #17
    Actually. I am going to wait for fixes.
     
  18. iSamurai macrumors 65816

    iSamurai

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    ɹǝpun uʍop 'ǝuɐqsı&#
    #18
    Your problem sounds like mine.
    I have the WiFi issue. something's wrong with saving passwords. it won't remember anything. phew-- I was gonna post this on a new thread...

    I'm doing the same thing. except RESTORING back to 2.0.0 with the custom firmware I made last month and then UPDATING it to 2.0.2. this doesn't have the password problem, so it should be a bug in pwnage tool.
    ok, we'll hope so. but i think the quickest would probably be next week...
     
  19. pyrodex macrumors 6502

    pyrodex

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    Wouldn't a fix permissions in bossprefs fix this also maybe? Also there is no reason to use pwnage tool again if you already used quickpwn and are happy. For me I used pwnage tool in 2.0.1 to get me a larger root size (768MB) and it seems when I used quickpwn to go to 2.0.2 it was carried over so really no reason for pwnage tool unless your stuck on a MAC.
     
  20. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #20
    Did you try this?

    The Password storage issue can be fixed by installing OpenSSH and applying a chmod of 0777 to /var/Keychains. This will allow the passwords to be stored to the Keychain database.
     
  21. iSamurai macrumors 65816

    iSamurai

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    ɹǝpun uʍop 'ǝuɐqsı&#
    #21
    ARE YOU SERIOUS!? no way... I'll let someone try it because I've just gone through 1.5 hours of restoring, updating and syncing everything back :eek:
    Maybe they will bring out a fixed pwnage tool.
     
  22. Rotara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    London UK
    #22
    Once you have set up the restore procedure (downloaded all the bits and created the custom restore file etc) then performing the erase and re-install shouldn't take more than 10 mins. Problem I have is i'm not 100% confident with Open SSH so tinkering about with its innards doesn't appeal to me. Unless someone can post a basic step-by-step guide.
     
  23. WPB2 macrumors 6502a

    WPB2

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Southeast, LA
    #23
    I will try the SSH method using CyberDuck. I will post a step by step give me a minute
     
  24. WPB2 macrumors 6502a

    WPB2

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Southeast, LA
    #24
    1. Download and install CyberDuck
    2. Install OpenSSH through Cydia
    3. Open CyberDuck, and open a connection. enter your iPhones IP address
    4. Login (root) password (alpine)
    5. /var/keychains
    6. right click below keychains, and create a new file named (0777)
    7. You should be done (the easy way)
     
  25. Rotara macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    London UK
    #25

    do I create an ftp connection to the iPhone? and how do I find out the IP address of the iPhone?

    ok.. I think I managed to get the IP but CyberDuck keeps telling me connection refused.. any ideas?



    Cheers
     

Share This Page