Pwnage Tool Trouble, HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by CBell, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. CBell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #1
    I got an iPhone today, and I plugged it in to my Mac. I have a Touch that I hacked with ZiPhone a while ago, and when I first plugged in my iPhone to my Mac, a screen appeared that said "Set up Your Phone" and it gave me a couple of options, one was to set it up as a new phone, and the other was to restore from a back up of my Touch. With out thinking I chose to restore from the back up of my Touch.

    I then realized what I did, and then clicked on the update button (the iPhone had 2.0 firmware, and I updated to 2.1).

    Then I downloaded Pwnage Tool 2.1 and went through all the steps it told me to, and when I go to restore the iPhone with the custom firmware it makes, I get an error 1600. This happens every time, and I have gone through the steps in Pwnage Tool to make the custom firmware at least 5 or 6 times.

    HELP!!!!
     
  2. ritze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #2
    what version of itunes do you have? when i pwned my iphone with pwnagetool 2.1 i had itunes 8, it might not make a difference but it is something...
     
  3. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #3
    Unhook from itunes and reboot. Are you seeing a pineapple or a regular apple?

    If you are seeing pineapple-power up and the picture of steve jobs shuld appear (indicating DFU mode). I have seen this 4 times today :) Finally know why though...

    I you see a "regular" apple-you may need to try and restore earlier version of the software on itunes version < 8.0
     
  4. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #4
    I'm using iTunes 8, and when I power up the phone I see the regular apple logo.

    How do I downgrade iTunes?
     
  5. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #5
    See this web site-

    http://www.iphone-hacks.com/

    Remember to drag itunes 8 into the garbage-empty trash-rebootbefore installing old itunes.
     
  6. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #6
    O.K. I downloaded the 2.0 firmware, and I remembered I had a powermac that had iTunes 7.7 on it.

    When I tried to install the 2.0 firmware I get an error 1013.
     
  7. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  8. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #8
    Ever since I tried to downgrade to 2.0 on the iTunes 7.7 my iPhone only shows the screen with the iTunes picture and a usb cable underneath it. I can't get it out of that screen.


    HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
  10. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #10
    I'm having the same problem. I've reinstalled iTunes 8 and changed USB ports — no dice. Hopefully this is a bug with PwnageTool and I haven't bricked my phone. :(
     
  11. J@ffa macrumors 6502a

    J@ffa

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Location:
    Behind you!
    #11
    Woohoo! I figured it out. Basically, you need PwnageTool AND QuickPwn.

    1) Make your hacked IPSW in the latest version of PwnageTool to your liking.
    2) Restore to the regular, Apple-supplied version of iPhone 2.1.
    3) When the iPhone comes up complaining about your incompatible or missing SIM card, launch QuickPwn and let it do its thing. It doesn't much matter what you choose at this point, but the important thing is that it will be able to detect the iPhone. Let it hack away at its heart's content.
    4) Once it finishes, it'll popup in iTunes asking to restore from a backup or whatever. Choose 'set up as new iPhone' and on the following screen untick autosync of everything. Cancel the sync that initiates after that so the iPhone's just sitting there.
    5) Alt-click restore and select the firmware you created with PwnageTool.
    6) Success! :D

    Took me a while, and I was worried I was hosed several times, but all is now good. Funnily enough, I was on 2.1 already but I wanted to do a clean install just to be tidy. Punishment for my silliness, I guess!
     
  12. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #12
    Yeah, if I can get it back to 2.1 I'm just gonna say **** it. And just keep it on an un jailbroken firmware for now.
     
  13. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #13
    YEAH!!! I'm finally back to 2.1, but I still can't get the Pwnage Tool custom firmware to install. I have ATT so I don't have to worry about activating it or making it accept other SIM cards.

    I'm afraid I did something horribly wrong when I accidentally chose to restore it from my Touch. I really wanted Cycorder, too.
     
  14. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #14
    Dammit, now it says "No Service"

    I know I get service, I have ATT and I got it today God Dammit!

    Did I **** up my iPhone?
     
  15. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #15
    I also get this every time I plug in my iPhone:

    [​IMG]
     
  16. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  17. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
  18. CBell thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #18
    UPDATE: I used QuickPwn v1.1 for Mac and it worked great. PwnageTool just didn't work for me for some reason.

    Now the only problem I have is that error message that pops up in iTunes whenever I plug my iPhone it. When I hit OK on that message iTunes recognizes my phone fine, it only appears when I first plug in my phone.
     

Share This Page