PwnageTool 2.0 - Bouncing icon thread

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Shaduu, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. Shaduu macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #1
    Right, everyone who's experiencing the bouncing icon syndrome of PwnageTool 2.0 post your system specs here so we can start identifying a common theme/bug.

    1GHz PPC TiBook
    512MB
    10.4.11 with latest Security Update installed

    Also, can you check that Pwnage is flatlining in Activity Monitor? Launch PwnageTool while keeping an eye on its process in Activity Monitor. I've found that its CPU usage rockets at launch before returning to 0.00% usage while the icon continues to bounce.
     
  2. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    lol love the thread title.

    Works great on my penryn macbook pro.

    perhaps this is not a universal binary.

    im sure the dev team is outfitted with latest gen mac pro's and mbp's
     
  3. mikelcroft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  4. Shaduu thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #4
    It's a Universal app; I checked as soon as I realised it wasn't going to launch.

    I have a feeling it's just a general bug that'll be fixed it a 2.0.1 update.
     
  5. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #5
    Works fine on my 933mhz G4. Although it was really slow without USB 2.0 when I installed the image on the phone.
     
  6. mikelcroft macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  7. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #7
    No solution, but I am having the same issue, It seems like many people are as well. I am on a Macbook Pro 10.5.4
     
  8. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
  9. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
    #9
    I tried this on my wife's white macbook too. No dice.
     
  10. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #10
    Everyone that I have seen has had issues with the Pwnage tool on a Macbook or Macbook Pro. What is everyones system specs?
     
  11. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
  12. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #12
    Ok, exact same system specs as what I am running.
    I have set up a new User account and tried to run it on there, and no dice either!

    Looking like its a hardware thing???
     
  13. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
    #13
    my wife's macbook is a 1.83 core duo. same issue
     
  14. Essjay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #14
    Macbook Pro
    2.4 Non Penryn
    4 Gigs of Ram

    10.5.4
     
  15. adamsimms macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    #15
    Same thing for me. It's becoming really frustrating.

    MBP 10.5.4

    Here are some log issues I was able to extract.

    19/07/08 8:35:43 PM PwnageTool[97573] Unable to load nib file: MainMenu, exiting
    19/07/08 8:35:43 PM com.apple.launchd[107] ([0x0-0x352352].com.devteam.pwnagetool[97573]) Exited with exit code: 1
     
  16. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #16
    Certain MB and MBP are having this issue it seems. No other Macs running into problems.
    Unless someone technica minded can come up with an answer to why it wont load (and I have tired creating new users, restarting, repairing permissions etc) looks like is MB and MBP owners are going to have to wait :confused:
     
  17. Shaduu thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Shaduu

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Location:
    Southsea
    #17
    That's what I tried and got the same results.

    I don't see how this is hardware as there's such a mix of systems displaying this issue. I mean, I'm running PPC hardware and most of the others in this thread are on Intel.

    I have a feeling it's a bug in the software or Pwnage is clashing with something we're all running.
     
  18. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
  19. tonyberinson macrumors newbie

    tonyberinson

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #19
    I have the same problem - and the same machine.

    Do we have a contact for the dev team - to send stuff like that log - that adamsims found?

    Cheers

    Tony
     
  20. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #20
    does anyone have a contact for the Dev team?

    I agree that is must be something we are all running for it not to load up. Such a mix of different hardware and system software doesn't add up.
     
  21. Jheff! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Location:
    Keller, Texas
    #21
    This sucks.

    Here are my specs. If it helps.

    white macbook
    2.2 c2d
    2 gigs of ram
     
  22. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #22
    Same exact specs here, working fine. Sorry mates :\
     
  23. aaronmeredith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #23
    Well.. only means that its some form of software of firmware update that we are all running on our MB or MBP's
     
  24. liv2wrshp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    chicago
  25. boardopboy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    #25
    Worked for me.

    I'm running:

    1st Gen Macbook Pro
    Core Duo (NOT Core 2 Duo) 2.16 gHz
    1 measly gig of ram (been meaning to upgrade that!)

    Started right up after about 7 or 8 bounces (I just fired it up again, and counted 3 bounces before the app opened).

    I did notice PwngeTool 2.0 lagged the machine up pretty hard on initial launch, but after that it ran smooth.

    That's my experience.
     

Share This Page