Q about adding more RAM, & Memory on Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Bret27, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. Bret27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    Fellas, how do I add more RAM, and Memory to my Macbook? Don't I buy some chip or something, unscrew my Mac, then place it in their?

    I have 4GB Memory, and I was looking at "about this Mac" and don't know where to look for the RAM.....

    What's the most I can add for each? TY
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    RAM = your memory
    Your RAM = 4 GB

    4 GB of RAM on your MacBook is more than enough for anything you are likely to be doing, and I am not even sure your MacBook would support more RAM anyway

    You can go to Other World Computing and look on their upgrade page to find your MacBook and the amount of RAM it will support

    You can also go to iFixit for a video on how to install RAM, hard drives, etc.

    You can add more storage space with a larger/faster hard disk drive
    But that is a separate issue
     
  3. Bret27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #3

    Ha.... oh. Thanks

    So that's a ton of space eh?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    MEMORY is not the same as SPACE.

    Memory, if spoken in computer terms, is the place your system holds data temporarily (it gets deleted after a restart or if the RAM is full) to work faster, as Hard Disk Drives (HDD) don't offer speeds enough to work with them.

    SPACE relates to the HDD capacity you have, most likely in the hundreds of GigaBytes (GB) and where all your and the system's data are stored. It is not a temporary storage like RAM (memory), but a permanent, until you delete something as you can see from your other endeavour with the ALL DOCUMENTS incident.
     
  5. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    Ya can get 6GB of RAM into a MacBook, although its unsupported. But I don't think you'd need more than 4GB of RAM unless your doing some heavy stuff... =D
     
  6. ThrawnTHX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #6
    A question for the original poster: what issues are you experiencing that is prompting you to consider an upgrade?

    Are you perceiving general sluggishness? Is there some software giving your MB a fit?

    Try to provide any issues you're having--we'll be able to give you better advice and it's quite likely something you can rectify by something as simple as repairing permissions instead of cracking the case.
     
  7. Bret27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #7
    Right. No heavy stuff here really. Mac Word, DVD, Camino, and Powerpoint when I will start lecturing. Thats bout it. ha
     
  8. Bret27 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #8
    No issues going on. When I first got the Mac, it seemed to get to the Desktop from the start of turning it on. But, installed things since then so...

    Ya, no problems just thinking if I should have more space, just to have it. Maybe I am underestaming the size of 4GB Ram. Thanks
     
  9. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #9
    Without knowing which model of MacBook, this could be a misleading statement. Older models can only support 2GB or 4GB maximum.
     
  10. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #10
    The OP has a MacBook bought in 01/2010, but it was only stated in another thread.
     
  11. sml238 macrumors regular

    sml238

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #11
    ya your getting a Hard Drive and RAM/Memory confused

    a Hard Drive is where you store all your music/files/etc

    Ram (Memory) like an above poster said temporary memory that your computer uses to quickly send/receive information, because your hard drive is slower. if you use all of your ram, then your ram starts sending/pulling excess information from the hard drive, which takes longer. this is the time you want to upgrade your ram...

    if you download the widget istat pro, it will tell you how much memory aka ram you use, from their you can see if you need more ram or not.

    unless your using some extensive programs like photoshop or any video editing, 4gb of ram is more than enough...

    if your running out of physical memory like where you store your music/files, then you can upgrade that to a greater capacity.
     

Share This Page