Q6600 vs MBP i7 640M

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by asp30deuce, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. asp30deuce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #1
    I'm thinking about selling my Q6600 desktop in favor of the 2.8 i7 640M MBP. I need a powerful machine that is both portable and capable of large scale java development. Would I be downgrading in terms of processing performance?
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    I went from a hackintosh q6600, 8 gig ram 8800gt to a mbb 2.66i7, 8 gig ram and felt no slow down and in some cases speed ups

    though...I am not a gamer either
     
  3. asp30deuce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #3
    I don't plan on gaming on it, it's main purpose is for work. I'm guessing not many people give up their quad core desktops for a dual core i7 on these boards....
     
  4. Stvwndr219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #5
    Were all four cores being fully utilized earlier? i7 is definitely more efficient than the core processes.
     
  5. asp30deuce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #6
    Typical CPU usage showed 10%-60% usage for the most part. The only time I load up all 4 cores 100% is when I'm compiling GWT modules and I do that task 5 or 6 times a day.
     
  6. beret9987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    While I didn't completely replace my desktop like what you're proposing, I did augment my workflow with a 15" i7 MBP(mainly do LabView development and the like) and I did experience any slowdowns and I actually don't use my desktop that much anymore unless I intend to game a bit. To be honest, I think it puts you at an advantage depending on your work situation. The ability to carry your work is an excellent way of going especially when you need a change of scene from those long coding sessions! Just make sure to pickup something like LoJack or undercover, lock down the firmware and get a good kensington lock and bag and you're good to go! Hope this helped!

    For reference: I run an Xeon X3520@ 4.2Ghz, 16GBs of DDR3 RAM and a GTX 285 in my desktop, just to give you an idea of what I was coming from.
     
  7. asp30deuce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #8
    Well hopefully I won't see any slowdown from this switch!
     
  8. asp30deuce thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #9
    Well I made the switch today! Sold my Q6600 workstation and picked up a new MBP 2.8 i7 HR today from my local Apple store. Here goes nothin.... :D
     
  9. omizzle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #10
    Let us know how it goes!
     

Share This Page