QTKitServer-(54124) Safari (Not Responding)

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by pastrychef, Oct 9, 2013.

  1. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #1
    I consistently see this in Activity Monitor. What is QTKitServer? What does it do? How can I fix this? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MrGimper macrumors 601

    MrGimper

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Andover, UK
    #2
    I get this too on the GM
     
  3. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    This happened a few times with Mountain Lion with me so this definitely isn't Mavericks-specific.
     
  4. nbnbxdnb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    I have these too. Somebody help~~
     
  5. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #5
    QTkitserver-(2030) Safari (not responding)

    Yeah, Same problem here on my Macbook Pro late 2011 Mavericks updated from Mountain Lion.

    - I found that some people had issues with Perian, but I have never installed perian.
    - HTML5 beta on Youtube is disabled
    - I have already tried to uninstall CLICK to plugin2.8.8

    No positive result.

    Anyone any more ideas?
     
  6. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    I still haven't resolved this issue. However, I was told by another forum member that it is no longer needed in Mavericks.
     
  7. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #7
    What do you mean by "that it is no longer needed in Mavericks":confused:

    Do you mean the QTkitserver?

    How do I uninstall this?

    Because I am on Mavericks now.
     
  8. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    Apparently, QuickTime has changed (it no longer works with plugins such as Perian anymore, among other changes) and QTKitServer is not needed.

    I don't know how to uninstall it. My guess is to trash /System/Library/Frameworks/QTKit.framework/Versions/A/XPCServices/com.apple.qtkitserver.xpc/Contents/MacOS/com.apple.qtkitserver, but I haven't tried this yet.
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    No! Delete the obsolete Quicktime components from /Library/QuickTime.
     
  10. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  11. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #11
    So... which one is the obsolete quicktime component?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
    The only files I have left in that folder are:

    AppleIntermediateCodec.component
    AppleMPEG2Codec.component
    Flip4Mac WMV Import.component
    Flip4Mac WMV Export.component
    Flip4Mac WMV Advanced.component
    AC3MovieImport.component
    Perian.component

    The ones that I deleted and fixed the QTKitServer not responding were:

    SoundboothScoreCodec.component
    FLV.component
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    If you inspect the non-responsive process in Activity Viewer, you should see an indication of what's causing it.
     
  14. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #14
    Do you mean this:
    See file in attachment.

    Can I just put the 'com.apple.qtkitserver.xpc'in:
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QTKit.framework/Versions/A/XPCServices/com.apple.qtkitserver.xpc/

    To my trash? What does this Quicktime server do??
     
  15. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #15
    In: /System/Library/QuickTime
    I have whats in the first screen capture

    and in:/Library/QuickTime
    I have what is in the second screen capture, still I have the QTserver not responding...
     

    Attached Files:

  16. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #16
    In general, deleting anything from /System is going to cause problems and is ill-advised. Obviously this is part of QuickTime that Apple put in there for a reason.
    I can't see your attachment.
    Open Activity Monitor, then find the QTKit process that is not responding, and either click the little "i" button or type Command-I. Under the Open Files and Ports pane you will see a bunch of text. In there you'll find some Quicktime components. In mine there were a couple but Divx.framework was the root of the trouble. You'll be able to see which file and its path in the info window to be sure.
     
  17. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #17
    I have this:
    /
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QTKit.framework/Versions/A/XPCServices/com.apple.qtkitserver.xpc/Contents/MacOS/com.apple.qtkitserver
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/HIToolbox.framework/Versions/A/Resources/HIToolbox.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/HIToolbox.framework/Versions/A/Resources/English.lproj/Localized.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QuickTime.framework/Versions/A/Resources/QuickTime.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QuickTime.framework/Versions/A/Resources/English.lproj/Localized.rsrc
    /private/var/folders/n6/7xj17c1911z26dgm20xtb3ym0000gn/C/com.apple.scriptmanager.le.cache
    /private/var/folders/n6/7xj17c1911z26dgm20xtb3ym0000gn/C/com.apple.LaunchServices-044501.csstore
    /usr/share/icu/icudt51l.dat
    /usr/lib/dyld
    /private/var/db/dyld/dyld_shared_cache_i386
    /dev/null
    /dev/null
    /dev/null
    count=2, state=0x2
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/HIToolbox.framework/Versions/A/Resources/HIToolbox.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Frameworks/HIToolbox.framework/Versions/A/Resources/English.lproj/Localized.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QuickTime.framework/Versions/A/Resources/QuickTime.rsrc
    /System/Library/Frameworks/QuickTime.framework/Versions/A/Resources/English.lproj/Localized.rsrc
    ->0xc8d24df4a49972c1
     
  18. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #18
    What I find strange, is that this process is 32 bits??

    Quicktime and Safari are 64, so why's this process 32bits?
     
  19. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #19
    My issue returned. After reading Rjjcvb's post about 32-bit, I realized that it was Perian's fault and have since removed it.

    Thanks, Rjjcvb!!
     
  20. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #20
    You are welkom;)

    I have decided do a fresh install of Mavericks. Sinds I have bought my MacBook Pro from December 2011 I have never done this.

    Good luck.
     
  21. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #21
    Yeah my Macbook Pro is a LOT faster after installation.

    But I still have this QTKitServer safari no responding.

    In the beginning it opens when I open safari, at this moment it does not consumes a lot of memory or CPU. But after a while (even without going to youtube) the QTKitserver just stops responding out of nowhere:mad:
     
  22. Rjjcvb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    #22
    OK I just found out...

    I have solved this problem by uninstalling the: Download ClickToPlugin 2.8.9....:eek:

    I love this plugin because I get a lot of HTML5 action:D (i hate flash:mad:)
     
  23. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #23
    Oh. That's interesting. I'll have to keep an eye on activity monitor again. Thanks for the info.
     
  24. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #24
    I have this issue and don't have Perian, or the ClickToPlugin, so it must be something else.
     

Share This Page