Quad 30" ACD with Mac Pro - Picture

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macpro2000, Dec 12, 2013.

  1. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    Just got my old Mac Pro 1,1 fully complete with 4 perfect 30" ACDs.... will be nice to hook up a new Mac Pro in a couple weeks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    im guessing the new Mac Pro? looks a beautiful thing, i should of done better at school...
     
  3. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #3
    I've worked on workstations with 3x Dell 3011's but four :eek:

    Think I would get neck strain :D
     
  4. Cubemmal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #4
    I've done that kind of thing. One too many screens IMO. I also find it better to have a larger central monitor and smaller side.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    I saw another 4x30" setup when I was doing some tech work in a design engineering business about 5 years ago. The user had the 30-inch ACDs set in a 2x2 configuration, not side by side.
     
  6. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #6
    I tried that with 23" ACDs on each side...JV...gotta have the big ones if you can. :)
     
  7. LevMac macrumors 6502

    LevMac

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    #7
    Wow, simply beautiful setup there macpro2000 :)
     
  8. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    Well, that's just crazy talk gibberish.


    I totally approve.
     
  9. ybz90 macrumors 6502a

    ybz90

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #9
    First, very nice. Second, have you considered 2x2? It makes more sense ergonomically and for productivity so you don't have to keep turning your head.
     
  10. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    Those ACDs must keep you very warm during winter. :D
     
  11. TyPod macrumors 68000

    TyPod

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    And Yourself?
    #11
    Must take quite a bit of scrolling to get from the left screen to the right.
     
  12. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    If you need the name of a good chiropractor, let me know. *jealous* :)
     
  13. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #13
    I really haven't, good idea however. I think I really like to have a main display directly in front though.
     
  14. Freida macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    #14
    I miss those screens. Matte beauty! The new mirrors are simply ugly and useless. I hope that when they release an update they will tackle the reflections better than in the iMacs. There are non reflective glass technologies readily available so why can't they go for it?

    Nice setup man, to me I would not have the 4th one as its not ergonomically positioned for me but if it works for you then amazing :)

    Shame I had to sell my ACD :(
     
  15. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #15
    OP, here - looking at a single 20" ACD - I have to say that is a massive amount of screen real estate...

    I have to ask though: What on earth do you need that number of pixels for?

    RGDS,
     
  16. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #16
    I added the 4th one just cause I had room on the wall. I use my optometric practice management software on one screen. The rest is for safari. :)
     
  17. Rich.Cohen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #17
    I'm curious. Do you often open one window across two or more screens? How well does that work in practice? On a few occasions I've tried extending a spreadsheet across two screens, but my second monitor is smaller than my main and it doesn't work that well. Also some data tends to get chopped by the screen boundary.
     
  18. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #18
    I actually do that quite a bit in Numbers. Works perfect, much better when they are the same size.
     
  19. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #19
  20. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
  21. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #21
    Wanna donate a 5th 30" to replace my 22" ACD? :D
     

    Attached Files:

  22. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #22
    I have an extra one of those old ACDs...need to get rid of it.
     
  23. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #23
    4's just sick :) I thought I was bad with three! Well, actually I have 7 :)

    [​IMG]
     
  24. macpro2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #24
    You got me beat man!
     
  25. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #25
    Yeah, for some strange reason the right monitor keeps dropping out on the iMac setup, can't figure it out. *&^$ Thunderbolt wackiness.
     

Share This Page