Quad boot MBP 8.2??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by YuGwEn, Jun 20, 2011.

1. YuGwEn macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I just purchased my first Mac (15" MBP 2.2 i7) and have a question that I'm hoping someone has an answer to. I have a lot of experience building and manipulating pc's, not that that helps in this situation, but I'm stuck as I do not have much experience with Macs period. I have been modifying and hacking iPhones for quite some time though. Anyway here goes..

btw I know there are a lot of threads here and on other sites SIMILAR to this but none correctly address my situation, at least not what I've found in the past week, so please read through the rest of my post before you copy me a link to another thread if that's what you were planning on doing. If you do know of a solution specific to what i am trying to do somewhere else that you can link me to, then I thank you in advance :)

So the first thing I did when I got my MBP was to rip out the 750gb drive and install a seagate 1.5TB. After that I pretty easily successfully triple booted it with Snow leopard, Windows 7, and ubuntu 11.04, using refit and bootcamp. Everything was flying and working great, now here's my question.

I work in the motion picture industry and the equipment I use for audio and video and the servers I work on require me to have windows XP as well as linux on my machine. I also have programs i need that only work on 64bit systems (hense Windows 7).

So in a nutshell I want to quad boot so I have Mac OS, Windows 7 Pro 64bit, Windows XP Pro, AND ubuntu on my machine.
    Once i triple booted it, I tried shrinking the Linux partition and installing XP on that and it totally corrupted the boot file in 7 and messed up bootcamp.