Quad-core 13 inch MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Windows&Apple, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. Windows&Apple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    #1
    Do you think Apple will ever put a Quad-core Intel processor in the 13" MacBook Pro's?
     
  2. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Location:
    Bronx,Ny
    #2
    Lol never , they don't even Have a discrete graphics card so I wouldn't hold my breath
     
  3. Windows&Apple thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    #3
    You can have a quad-core without a discrete GPU.
     
  4. Dominus Mortem macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #4
    Probably not soon, as in the next release due to battery life and cooling issues. I would imagine as the industry get more advanced and can get a quad core into a 13" form factor without it melting or diminishing battery life then, it will come.
     
  5. A Hebrew macrumors 6502a

    A Hebrew

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    Apple won't put a quad core in the rMBP 13 because of the form factor. For the cMBP they won't because they are gradually cycling it out.
     
  6. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #6
    They would need to either increase battery efficiency, or lower power requirements for the CPU.

    I'd jump on a quad-core 13" system. It will give me everything I want in a laptop: 1. More than 2 CPU cores (because I run enough VMs to warrant it), and 2. More portable than the 15". I'm not that hung up on graphics and display size like I used to be when I gamed a bunch in my earlier years. I do more work (VMs) than gaming these days.

    I hope we're probably a year or two away from seeing it (probably two.)
     
  7. Livewings macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #7
    Yeah, they will definitely put quad-core processor in 13" MBP once octo-core becomes mainstream for 15 MBP. :rolleyes::D
     
  8. nurivo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    #8
    It's beyond me how anyone in a tech-related forum would ever use the word 'never' ;)
     
  9. dusk007, Jan 7, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2013

    dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #9
    Many of the poster of those replies seem to forget that there is already 35W Quad Core 3612QM which is a TDP the 13" rMBP & cMBP can handle just fine. The 3520M is also 35W and both CPUs reach that TDP at some point due to the Turbo mode. There isn't really any difference.

    The only reason I can think of why Apple doesn't is because they want to keep a bigger performance gap between the 13" and the bigger margin much more expensive 15". The socket is no different and the cooling can handle 35W TDP. If those chips were exchangable you could just swap the CPUs yourself.

    The only reason they didn't do it is because they don't like how it looks in their portfolio. ;)
    I doubt they can escape it in the next release with Haswell. I would guess it is marketing. They wanted people to focus on the great display of the rMBP and keep the notebook cool and the standard MBP not be too much competition for its more expensive brother. They kept the Quad Core out so they have a new killer feature for the uninformed at the next iteration. Next iteration there will almost definitely be a Quad Core in both 13" MBPs as an option at least.

    The Air on the other hand definitely won't see a Quad Core until 14nm Broadwell at the earliest, when there are single SoC Quad Cores around. Not only because of heat but also because the chip needs the right kind of packaging.
     
  10. macmastersam macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Location:
    Essex, england
    #10
    Not until intel broadwell comes out at the least. That's when the architecture would be small enough, at 14nm. Not to mention that the power consumption would be less in it too, so there should be no need for a bigger battery; however it would be a good idea of apple could squeeze some more power off it though :)
     
  11. mslide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #11
    I would love to have a quad-core in a 13" form factor, even if it still had integrated graphics. I wish the only difference between a 13" and 15" laptop was just the display size.
     
  12. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #12
    Still no quad core in the 13". When could that come?
     
  13. SVTmaniac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013
    #13
    My old Sony Vaio 13" from three years ago has a quad core i7 in it. The battery life on it is about half what my 13" rMBP is, but the battery is also much smaller than the one in my Macbook. I would have figured Apple would have found a way to make this happen by now. I could live with less battery in exchange for more power.
     
  14. jedics macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #14
    +1 to 13 inch Quadcore

    this thread is a bit old now but I came across it in my search after looking at the new rMBP 13". I never had any interest in them before but they have done such a nice job with it that if it did have a quad core I would have bought it.

    However I need very low latency audio for live performance and that brings most computers to their knees and given my current 2011 mbp 15" is running at least one of its cores at 50% already I don think its wise to get anything less powerful.

    I am one of those people who doesnt really care about discrete graphics. But weight and battery life along with power IS an issue and given apple like to call the 13" a 'pro' I really think it should be a true quad even if at lower clock speeds..
     
  15. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #15
    There will be a quad core in the 13" once Intel releases appropriate CPUs. At latest with Skylake.
     
  16. mtneer macrumors 68020

    mtneer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #16
    Or.. as the rumor ever persists, will Apple stick with Intel until Skylake?? ;)

    Quad Core ARM's?
     
  17. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  18. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #18
    As someone else pointed out - Intel already makes a chip that would be very much suitable for a 13" quad core MacBook Pro. My guess is that the reason they don't want to do this is just to keep some kind of differentiation between the 13" and 15" MacBooks aside from the screen size.

    In all honesty though, both the dual and quad core chips are very capable processors - I think most people would be very happy with the performance of either, especially when you factor in the flash memory which is included.
     
  19. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #19
    I doubt that ARM can catch up with Intel in performance until then. But who knows.
     
  20. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #20
    Indeed, one could even ask - is a 13" truly a "pro" machine having only dual core, compared to a 15" machine with quad core.

    Add me to the list of quad core 13" dreamers. Would be the perfect machine for me.
     
  21. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #21
    Of course it is. I can do my professional work on a dual core machine.

    A professional writer could do their job on a machine that's 15 years old. So this "professional" tag is a load of BS.
     
  22. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #22
    Obviously. My point was that even thought the 13" and 15" are both labelled as professional - they are in fact quite different beasts. Arguably the 13" pro is closer to the 13" Air than it is the 15" pro
     
  23. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #23
    The professional tag just basically means 'premium'. As the Pro line is the premium range from Apple, you get a better class of processor, more RAM & storage options, a retina display and an overall better package.

    The 'Pro' does not mean what most people still think it does.
     
  24. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #24
    Right now Intel offers Haswell 27W Quad Core CPU.

    Its clocked at 2 GHz and has no GPU.

    Broadwell will presumably bring 28W Quad Core CPU with Iris Pro 2, thanks to new process.

    13 inch with that CPU(2 GHz, Iris Pro 2 which would be faster than GT750M) would be EPIC machine.

    However - 15 inch, with 4 cores, 16 GB of RAM, 768 GB SSD and GTX 860M would be even more epic ;).
     
  25. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    Perhaps but by the same token, Apple wants to differentiate the 13" machine a more low end product and if you want power and performance they want you to spend the bucks on the 15" model.
     

Share This Page