Quad Core i7 in Mid 2010?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JeffGilly, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. JeffGilly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    West Des Moines, IA
    #1
    Hey all! I bought my iMac in Aug 2010, and when I run the System Profiler, it says my system is a Quad Core i7. I am wanting to upgrade my RAM to an additional 16Gb (on top of the 4Gb that's in there now). So when I go to Crucial site (as well as other sites), it says that the Quad Core i7 was mid 2011. But I've had this for 2 years. Is that possible? Can the System Profiler be wrong? I did buy a refurbished Mac, but it was only a month old when I bought it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. ivoruest macrumors 6502

    ivoruest

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Guatemala
    #2
    2010 and 2011 models both came with optional Core i7 Processors. Don´t worry.

    If you want to upgrade to 16Gb ram you'll have to buy a 16Gb (4x4Gb) Kit or buy two 8Gb sticks plus the 2x2Gb already installed in your iMac. This way you'll lose dual channel but you'll have 20Gbs of RAM. As long as your Memory is 1333mhz DDR3 it'll work on your iMac. Both 2010 and 2011 can use 1333mhz RAM.
     
  3. JeffGilly thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    West Des Moines, IA
    #3
    Thank you so much ivoruest. Yes, I was going to order 2 8Gb sticks. Here's the RAM on Crucial's site: http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=5D6B6FD8A5CA7304

    What you said ("lose dual channel") brings up a question...is it better to do the 4 4Gb sticks, even tho it would 4Gb less, or to do the 2 8Gb sticks and keep the 4Gb already there?
     

Share This Page