Quad-CPU & 8GB Laptop

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MBX, Aug 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Actually, the current range of Santa Rosa based laptops will support upto 8Gb's of RAM, it's been proven by someone who has too much money and too much time to spare. Guess the only thing we're really waiting for is more cores and cheaper RAM modules.
     
  3. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #4
    I don't think professionals mind the costs of the ram as long as you're able to put in more than 4gb. There are always thirdparty suppliers too.

    Let's hope we'll see a upgraded Macbook Pro line with the quad & 8gb possible at MWSF09.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
  5. Firefly2002 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #6
    That's really good to know. I know the originals only supported 2 GB, then 3 GB; I'd been wondering about these models, since they do have 64-bit CPUs and the 3 GB issue was addressed.... Apple has been known (many times) to understate the max memory of their computers... like the Power Mac 9600 (apple claimed 768 MB, actual max 1.5 GB, Beige G3s Apple claimed 192 MB, actual 768 MB, etc).

    This means a couple years down the road when RAM prices on 4 GB DDR2 modules have dropped it'll be reasonable to get 8 GB :)
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #7
    No, someone has proven that when you install 8 GB, the machine crashes as soon as the OS accesses more than 4096 MB of memory.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page