Quad G5 Powermac - Chimes and THEN 3 beeps

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bobreborn, Sep 16, 2014.

  1. bobreborn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #1
    So, bunnspecial is an amazing user on here and mailed me some RAM to test this quad G5 I've been trying to get working.

    I throw the sticks in and it boots up to the screen flashing to let me know that the HDD I had installed I forgot to Restore the Leopard Partition so I could install. No problem.

    However once I do that properly I now have a G5 that Chimes and nice hello followed immediately by 3 beeps and thunder jets. =( I even unplugged the HDD entirely so there wasn't one and same thing happens.

    What did I do?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Have you tried reseating the memory and pressing the button inside on the logicboard?
     
  3. bobreborn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #3
    what button?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    There's a little PMU reset button on the logicboard near the ram slots. Press it one and only one time for 5 seconds.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    3 flashes means that no RAM banks passed memory testing.

    What memory do you have, and in which slots?
    Good test is to try one single, matched pair (same size and maker) in the center slots - no other memory installed.
    Make sure that both sticks are seated. Seat, remove and reseat, twice.
    Just to make sure - center pair of slots are the bottom slot in the top bank, and the top slot in the bottom bank. I think that each slot is labeled "1".
    No other memory in any other slot for this test.
     
  6. bobreborn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #6
    OK I found a little tiny guy and pressed it and it booted back up. Now I just have to figure out why

    a) the LED on my mouse only flashes before turning off
    b) why it's not detecting the boot install partition that is the same one I used on a dual G5 1 week ago.

    yipskidoo! :D progress!

    What would I have done in making that reseat+button press necessary?

    Thanks!
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    Bumped it maybe. Let's hope you don't have to apply that fix again. Having to keep doing that is a sign that something else is broken or bad.
     
  8. bobreborn, Sep 16, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014

    bobreborn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #8
    OK. So I had to do it again to install (turns out the HDD wanted to be on the top plugs not the bottom) and then went through the install...got into Leopard... and about 3 minutes in the fans kicked in, system froze and had to hard shut down.

    Restart and back to 3 beeps =(

    Threw the memory in slot 2 and pushed button and now I'm up and running - we'll see how long. Odds of just having a bad slot 1? What does that button do?
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    The button resets the power management system within the G5. It basically resets it as much as it can on a hardware level.
     
  10. CYB3RBYTE macrumors regular

    CYB3RBYTE

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Location:
    Midwest
    #10
    The reset button is a last resort before you start thinking about much worse potential problems. If only it solved every problem like yours! :)
     
  11. bobreborn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    #11
    OK, it seems to have been the RAM slot1's (the inner most). Using Slot 2 seems ok. Is there an AHT for these guys so I can maybe have it test everything out? Tell me which slots are bad? maybe PCI slots too?

    I only have the install on a partition of the HDD. It's what I used to install Leopard on the other bigger partition.
     
  12. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #12
    I would google for the Apple Service Diagnostic disc for your model. Those have more thorough hardware tests - particularly for memory, although if it does not see the memory, it will possibly report the system as working normally with the bank of RAM as empty.

    AHTs are pretty much useless IMHO. I have a Mac Mini with a dead lower RAM slot and it passes all the AHT tests.
     

Share This Page