Quad G5 Problems/Should I Buy It?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacCubed, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. MacCubed macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    So today I came across a listing for a Quad G5 for $90 with no HDD and 6 GB RAM. I have wanted a Quad for a long time now, and found this one, which is in my price range. The listing says that the computer won't turn on, but the power button LED comes on when the button is pressed. I have looked around on Google, and there are articles that say the PRAM battery is bad, the graphics card is bad, or the RAM is paired incorrectly. I just want to ask before I purchase it because I don't want to blow $100+ on a new logic board/processor. Really hoping that it's simple because I want a Quad so badly!
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    That's pretty vague. Normally the light will flash if the RAM is paired incorrectly.
     
  3. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Yeah it is a bit vague, I'm guessing that it's the same "light coming on" as when you power up a G5, but the computer doesn't boot
     
  4. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Also, I did read that I could be a PSU but then I'm not too sure if I have a multimeter laying around
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    If the light doesn't flash I'd guess a bad GPU is the most likely possibility.
     
  6. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    But the Power LED does flash, but then the computer does not turn on
     
  7. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #7
    Not at all, meaning no fan activity, and the light doesn't stay on? Probably either a bad logic board or PSU then, It'd be hard to tell which.
     
  8. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
  9. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    I've been thinking about it, I think I'm gonna buy it along with the risks, worst case scenario I part it out and make my money back
     
  10. SuperKerem macrumors 6502a

    SuperKerem

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Location:
    London, England
  11. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #11
    There are 7 LEDs on the front of the logic board that can give you a lot of information as to the faults happening when you power it on. The service manual will give you a fair bit of information about what faults the various light/light combinations mean.

    BTW, in my experience bad RAM will give you 3 beeps along with three flashes of the Power LED.

    If the computer doesn't chime, either the speaker is bad or it hasn't successfully completed the POST. The failure to POST is-I would say-most likely. Again, the LEDs on the logic board can give you an indication of where in the POST it's hanging/failing.
     
  12. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Ok so from what the seller has put in the description and from what I've found in the service manual, I've narrowed it down to these last 2 issues[​IMG] so it could be a few things, I'm hoping it's simple and I don't have to pay a ton of money for a new logic board, processor or PSU. Just curious, how much did you pay for your processor?
     
  13. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    Also I think I'm gonna ask the seller about the diagnostic LEDs
     
  14. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #14
    I can tell you from experience that when you're doing diagnostic work, don't skip any of the processor screws. Some of them are responsible for providing power-in particular the four rearmost ones that screw directly into the cards. Leaving one of these screws out will cause a hang.

    If the processor/LCS module hasn't been removed, check in particular for one or both of the processor LEDs along the front illuminating during POST. If either/both of these light, it may have LCS damage(although leaky quad LCSs are unusual). If either of these comes on, I'd run unless you can get it REALLY cheap.

    IMO, I'd probably pass on it for that price, as you can get a good known working one for not much more and sometimes less.
     
  15. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    I found a different one that is going for $140 the one that I originally looked at happens to have $30 shipping, so that's a no go. The one I'm looking at right now is a BTO Quad with 2 GB RAM. The HDD, Graphics, and RAM are missing so I have to get those parts. I'm getting 8 GB RAM, a 500 GB HDD (for my DP which I'm giving to my brother, I'm gonna take the 1 TB HDD from it), and the stock 6600 Graphics
     
  16. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #16
    Also @bunnspecial , when you removed the cover pin, did you damage it? I want to check the LCS on this one when I get it, the case is in terrible shape and I want to be sure the internals are nicer than the exterior. I know that since the cover pins are hard to come by now, removing it cleanly is the only option.
     
  17. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #17
    I ended up just using a knife and cutting it-mine doesn't have one now.

    Sorry-wish I had a better answer.
     
  18. MacCubed thread starter macrumors 68000

    MacCubed

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    #18
    It's fine, I'm thinking that if I can find a small enough object, that I could fit it into the small gap between the cover and where that pin is and use it to move one of those plastic finger things over enough to take the pin out
     

Share This Page