Quad Nehalem max RAM=16Gb?? Fact or error?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mggm59, Mar 22, 2009.

1. mggm59 macrumors newbie

I just found THIS

http://www.maxupgrades.com/istore/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_id=343

where they state that the max RAM is 16GB. Do they KNOW something??? This would throw up in the air all my thinking about which MacPro to buy.

I am an old Mac hand (and before, Apple IIe, IIc, then Mac 128, 512, Plus, Se, IIx.... to a Dual G5 1.8GHz now), but a total newbie as far as Intel is concerned, so please pardon me if my conjectures are completely off whack, and for the large number of questions.

Looking at the ill assorted (in my view, particularly pricewise) lineup of the latest Pros, I have come up with the following ideas:

- Buy a quad 2.66 with up to 8Gb and be happy for the time being (I have 2.5GB now), with better single thread performance than the 2.26 and still 8 thread performance available WHEN there will be apps to use it (none/few of those I use do, as far as I read around, in any case, and even those seem to stop at 2/4 cores anyway).

- IF the 4GB sticks work (I know this is a big if, but given what I just found, there might be hope....), buy them at a later stage when they come down to an acceptable price and get to 16. I see a lot being written around along the lines “Even if they work, they cost more than the computer today....” etc, but RAM prices normally go down fast, so is this really an issue (except if you need 16GB NOW, of course)? And aren’t 8GB sticks likely to appear later on to get it to 32 if needed?

- Buy a used 2.93 or faster chip in 2-3 years. I have no idea of how cost effective this has historically been. Do prices go down significantly, or am I likely to get in the ballpark of the delta with a used, faster machine, as it often happened in the past with CPU upgrades?