Quad or 8 Core 2010 Mac Pro for Software Development

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MFDoom, Aug 21, 2010.

1. MFDoom macrumors member

I'm a hardcore hobbyist in the market for a Mac Pro.
    This will primarily be used for application development, primarily with Xcode.
    I'll also use it for photography/video (GIMP, and stepping into Aperture and Final Cut Express).

I've ruled out an iMac because I want plenty of expansion options.

I know Xcode scales linearly depending on the number of cores but I am trying to look for a sweet spot in performance and budget. I want something I can grow with for a few years (i.e 3-4).

Currently I am suing a nearly full Macbook 2Ghz Core 2 Duo. I just built the latest nightly from Webkit and it took 1hr 9m, so I am definitely looking for an improvement.

Any help/opinions you may have would be most welcome.

2. Ryan P macrumors regular

You could try what I am trying and buy the 2010 Octa 2.4 and later replace the processors. I'm hoping to be able to replace them with the 3.47Ghz Xeon 5690's that are due out in the 4th quarter.

That may or may not be possible but you should at least be able to move up to the 2.93 5670's. The Xeons are not cheap but they should fall in price once the next generation are released.

3. costabunny macrumors 68020

costabunny

The way I see it is this:

If your mac will earn for you then get the best your budget allows now (in CPU terms) as replacing them later is messy and not that cheap.

If its pure extreme hobbyist (needing expansion) then the 2.8Quad is a powerful beasty and a good choice.

(I went through the same dilemma and concluded that while my mac does earn me money - its a very small percentage and most of my use is Prosumer) - the 2.8 still has 8 vThreads and lots of power. (still a shame apple does not make a Prosumer i7 based machine with a couple of HDD bays and a PCIe slot or two for us).

4. Giuly macrumors 68040

Giuly

What kind of expansion do you talk about?