Quadra with SCSI SD Card reader

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by daniel-b, May 16, 2012.

  1. daniel-b macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    A long time ago, I bought a SCSI flash card reader with the aim of using it with my Emax sampler. It's been in the box ever since. Today I got it our of the box, put in in an external SCSI enclosure (that was harder than I thought it was going to be), and connected it to the Quadra 650:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The results was interesting. SCSI Probe recognized it, showing all of its different logical units:

    [​IMG]

    However it wouldn't mount an SD card (128MB from an old camera) saying "not a Macintosh volume". If I removed the card, it showed a different error, meaning that it definitely recognized the card.

    It seems to me that it I could format the card, it would work. What software could I use to format it? My Mac Mini, BTW, can read the card. It says it's formatted as Fat16.

    Thanks,

    Daniel
     
  2. jodelli macrumors 65816

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #2
    Assuming you have 8.1 on the Quadra what you'd like to have is a device formatted as Mac OS Extended.

    If the Quadra can 'see' the 'not a Mac volume' initialize it anyway using Drive Setup or Custom Setup in Utilities in the System folder.

    Or if you still have a newer Mac using Classic mode try that.

    It's been awhile though...
     
  3. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #3
    Hi all,

    I am coming to the conclusion that it is not possible to format an SD card while it is in LUN 3. No software seems to support this option.

    The solution is to use a PCMCIA to SD adapter and put the card in LUN 0, or to format the card outside the Quadra.

    Is there any Mac OSX or Windows software that can format HFS?
     
  4. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #4
    Update: I found a Windows program called MacDrive that can format HFS, so I formatted the SD card. THe Quadra still says it's not a Mac volume.

    OSX Lion recognizes the card as "Mac OS Standard"

    I'm stumped now. It's quite possible that what I'm trying to do is impossible, at least with LUN's other than 0.

    Daniel
     
  5. MacTech68, May 17, 2012
    Last edited: May 17, 2012

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    I would think that you would be correct. It's possible that multiple LUN support would come via a driver which is perhaps not present in SCSI Manager 4.3.

    I do wonder what OS9.1 (not 'Classic mode') would make of it (on an appropriately supported machine).

    From my old days on System 6 thru to OS 9, I don't recall having seen anything SCSI with multiple LUNs. :(

    EDIT: I take it this is the device:
    http://a4000t.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=180

    If so, it seems it won't work due to the multiple LUNs problem. :(
     
  6. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #6
    Hi,

    I just had confirmation from SCSI Probe itself.. If you click on LUN 0 and then click mount it gives a bunch of errors and then says "multiple LUNs not supported"

    Apparently LUN 0 does work though. I will need a PCMCIA card adapter to prove this.
     
  7. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #7
    It works - I was able to partition, format and mount a 2GB Compact Flash card in a PCMCIA adapter. I was even able to boot from it :)

    I used FWB Hard Disk Toolkit; I couldn't get anything else to work.
     
  8. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #8
    Cool! :)

    I'd love to see some comparison boot times!
     
  9. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #9
    Hi,

    Hard disk: 48 secs

    CF card: 58 secs.

    D.
     
  10. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #10
    awwwww... :(
     
  11. daniel-b thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #11
    I agree...

    The drive, BTW, completely refused to work with the Mac Plus. they wouldn't play nicely at all. The Plus did not see the drive on its SCSI bus. I tried it daisy chained to the zip drive, and on it's own, with no success at all.
     
  12. dreadinny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015
    #12
     
  13. dreadinny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2015

Share This Page