Quadro 4000mac and openCL question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jeff Troiano, Jan 22, 2013.

  1. Jeff Troiano macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    #1
    I have a 2009 Mac Pro, running 10.7.5, and Quadro 4000 Mac vid card.

    Been reading a lot today about adding another card and such. Once question I have about openCL on my current card. It is a 2 gig card. I found my way to this post.....

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16078161&postcount=23

    About modifying the openCL driver, for cards over 2gig. I've been searching the forum to see whether this is also for the Quadro 4000 Mac card?

    I've tested my system on LuxMark, and it says I'm running openCL, but it seems slow to me.

    I'm just trying to confirm whether the steps on that page, are something I should do also?

    I downloaded hex fiend, and try following the steps. I didn't see the part about repairing permissions before booting. But when I went to reboot, it went as far as the Apple logo and spinning cog, and no further. I let it run like that for 2 or 3 min, then hard reset. Tried booting into safe mode, and the logo and bar came up, but then the bar disappeared and nothing but logo.

    I then booted to an external drive, went and replaced the modified openCL with the original, and all was normal.

    Now I'm not sure if I just messed up the changing of the string, or because I didn't repair permissions before booting, or I just simply didn't need this to begin with.

    Again, my question, with the Quadro 4000 for Mac, do I need to go and alter my OpenCL for a card that has 2 gigs or more.

    Thank you for take the time to answer.

    Jeff
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    It is slow in OpenCL. It's made for high precision OpenGL. You don't need a fix if Luxmark works on your card.
    Compare your results to scores database if you want, there are few 4000 scores but none in Mac OS: http://www.luxrender.net/luxmark/search/search

    You could possibly get a little better OCL performance in 10.8, due to newer drivers and OpenCL version, but don't expect much.
     
  3. danicyber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #3
    Same problem as Jeff Troiano

    I also have a Mac Pro, running 10.7.5, and Quadro 4000 Mac vid card.

    Been stuck for a year, without being able to use my vid card for OpenCL - my openCL codes work just fine, they just cannot make use of my Quadro 4000. I went through all the possible posts in changing GeForceGLDriver, no luck. Not even the SDK examples can find my Quadro.

    Any thoughts on that? Would be very appreciated. thanks,
    Dani
     
  4. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4
    You don't need to modify any binaries. The OpenCL fix is only required if your card has more than 2GB, regular 2GB cards like the Quadro 4000 work just fine.

    Can you be more specific about "slow"? What are you trying to do exactly? The Quadro 4000 is a fairly low-end card in the grand scheme of things, in terms of raw processing horsepower.
     
  5. danicyber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #5
    Mac OpenCL - a bad sandwich so far

    Dear Asgorath,

    I am trying to run OpenCL using the Quadro 4000. Totally agree it's a low-end card, but it's NVIDIA and I need to test my openCL codes on their cards. So far, it's a myth for me that Nvidia can take OpenCL. When I compile my codes, it finds only my cpu and my ati, it does not see my nvidia, and outputs the following:
    "WARNING: NVIDIA OpenCL platform not found - defaulting to first platform!"

    Any help welcome. thx, Dani
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Your problem is different than Jeff's. His card works with OpenCL, albeit slow.

    I'm not an expert in programming, but maybe take a look on Luxrender source code: http://src.luxrender.net/ to see how they implemented Quadro support in LuxMark.
     
  7. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #7
    You need to give more info, like driver version and whether you tried the OpenCl fix. Fixing something that isn't broken can break it. So if you tried to do OpenCl fix, you may have killed it yourself.

    Is it Mac 4000 or PC one?

    Do you have power cable run to it?
     
  8. danicyber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    #8
    Thx for the reply. Happy to give more info.
    • GPU driver = v7.32.12
    • Opencl 1.1
    • Mac Pro 2x2.4GHz Quad Xeon
    • OSX Lion 10.7.5

    Yes, I tried the OpenCl fix. With or without the fix, I am dead, dude. The card works fine with CUDA - with OpenCL (sample code that comes with the sdk), it cannot find the vid card. After reading the post below, I started thinking about returning my card...
    https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/...erformance/quadro-4000-mac-edition-38-opencl/
     
  9. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    Try running the 10.7.5 Combo update again.

    In most cases when something like this has happened the file got buggered when you tried to "fix" it.

    I don't have a 4000 here now but when I did, the OpenCl worked on it.

    If CUDA and OpenGl work OK, it HAS to be a driver issue. (ie, buggered file)

    Here's hoping that 10.7.6 and 10.8.3 will see Apple quit playing this silly game.

    The whole reason the fix is needed for cards past 2048 Megs is BECAUSE they want it to work on Q4000 (which they sell) but not on the bigger, better cards (that they don't sell)
     
  10. Asgorath macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #10
    I think this is your issue. AFAIK Apple disabled OpenCL acceleration in Lion for the Q4000, and it was only enabled in Mountain Lion. There's another hack floating around to remove this restriction, but your best bet would be to just update to 10.8 and everything should just work.
     
  11. sharchik macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    #11
    EVGA NVIDIA GTX 680 vs. Quadro 4000/Which one supports CUDA and Open CL in Premiere?

    Having the same problem... Looking to upgrade to a EVGA NVIDIA GTX 680 eith 2 or 4GB card for my 2008 Mac Pro running 10.7.5

    Should I upgrade or is there a fix?
     

Share This Page