OS X Quake live is no more!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by GTTC, Dec 17, 2013.

  1. GTTC macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #1
    Quake Live has now gone standalone and does not support MAC or Linux!
    Very disappointed with I.D. for this, I have been playing it for years on a mac platform.:mad:
     
  2. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #2
    I wonder if it was id Software's decision or Bethesda not to spend the money on Mac and Linux clients also. It is a shame. Q3A is a classic.
     
  3. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #3
    This really makes me angry! Yesterday it was permitted for Mac and Linux users to play.

    Today it is not.

    WTF?
     
  4. GTTC thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    #4
    yep, same, I was looking forward to the annual Christmas freeze tag.
    its a nice Happy Christmas from I.D.
     
  5. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Most games companies go where the biggest profit is, that that is NOT with the Mac sadly :(

    All we get most of the time are crumbs from the table so to speak in the guise of Wine and Cider Wrapped games that do not always run to their best.

    One of the biggest Mac game killers is Bootcamp I feel.
     
  6. boxboxneedabox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    #6
    Hi Guys!

    Up until yesterday, I played quake live quite a bit. It's one of the things that I really enjoyed. I am bedridden with leukemia and playing quake live was something I could do to help forget about the constant pain.

    I can't afford to buy a new computer, and I don't have the hard disk space to install another operating system. So unfortunately I am totally unable to play the game.

    I feel like this came with no warning whatsoever. One day it was just gone. Not even a "hey, this is your last ever chance to play quake live!"

    The thing is I will only live another 3 or 4 months, at best. That's what the doctors say.

    Why did they do this? :(
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
  8. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #8
    Yes, but a standalone WINDOWS-only game.
     
  9. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #9
    Yeah, but why? Quake Live is basically Quake 3 Arena. It's claim to fame is the fact that it's playable in the browser.

    This... kinda nullifies that, doesn't it? What does Quake Live gain from being a standalone?
     
  10. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #10
    There is an explanation of this on the game's web pages somewhere. Basically it comes down to the major browsers moving away from supporting plugins and Quake Live relied on this to run in browsers. So their solution was to go with a stand-alone client that integrates with their web pages instead.

    Unfortunately, this presented them with the problem of needing to develop for two other operating systems and apparently they deemed the effort not worthwhile. I guess there were not enough Mac and Linux players to justify the expense.

    It is a great game but in this day and age it is regarded as an oldie and became a niche product. People don't seem to go for arena shooters like they used to once upon a time sadly. I think that is why we don't see an Unreal 4, etc.
     
  11. TheBunny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    DC / Baltimore
  12. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Just play Quake 3. It is exactly the same and there are still plenty of server activity.
     
  13. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #13
    Without the game, how are we supposed to play it?
     
  14. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Um... you buy it. Like you would with any other game. You're lucky. Now is a good time to grab a copy from Steam since the holiday sales are on.

    Alternatively, there is OpenArena or Alien Arena which are both free similar games based on the same engine with great communities. Or you could acquire a copy of Quake 3 free somewhere if you're into that.
     
  15. Richdmoore macrumors 65816

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #15
    I just checked, and it looks like Quake 3 on steam is windows only as well.

    I think I started playing this game on the dreamcast, and it even had cross pc play for those who took the time to install the dc only maps.

    I know there is an xbox 360 live version (quake arena, I think), but I haven't tried it in years to see how active it is.

    No ipad/iphone version that I know about. With the ios controllers that are very slowly starting to appear, it might be work well vs a touchscreen.

    Does anyone have a link to quake 3 for Mac (Intel)? I recall there being a version, although I am not sure team arena expansion was included or not.

    Edit: Amazon has a couple of used copies for $35
     
  16. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #16
    There is? I am pretty sure the master server was taken down some time ago now. I tried to go online with it over a year ago and was not able to do so and I am pretty sure that was the reason why.

    Google this:

    "quake 3 master server no response 2012"

    and you'll get a page worth of links about this.

    Plus there is no currently available OS X version for sale new unfortunately.

    The loss of Quake Live for Mac is a loss. :(
     
  17. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Nope. Still plenty of servers. I play this game often.
    http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/885253821982362294/EADBDF1677FA84987EF1A98B3BA6A07495D1C9EA/


    There used to be an OS X version. I played it. The OS X version will probably have never been updated to run on Intel natively and thus, cannot be run with newer Macs. That is why I game on a PC.
     
  18. Irishman macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #18
    Not into piracy.

    The Q3A on Steam is Windows only. Doesn't help us here. There is no similar game that is similar enough for those of us who know the game.
     
  19. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #19
    That is strange given all the reports of the master server being down but nice to hear some people are still playing somehow.

    Basically though, we could use either Quake or Unreal Tournament for OS X, not that I think we'll be seeing that.

    On a bright note, there is Urban Terror, the Q3A mod which is a good one and I believe people still play. That is free and there is an OS X version available from their site. So that is something similar to Quake that might fit the bill and the price is certainly right.
     
  20. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #20
    The Q3A engine is open source, and has been ported to intel OS X / Linux here: http://ioquake3.org/get-it/

    It requires a legal copy of the data files, either a steam copy or CD. So it should be possible to buy the Windows Steam version during the sale, download it on the Mac (steam will let you) and then move the data files over to the OS X port.
     
  21. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #21
    That is fantastic news. Might have to give this port a spin. :D
     
  22. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #22
    Sweet! Thanks for pointing that out. I'll give it a try soon.
     
  23. pscl macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #23
    really sad to hear. ever since quake is made there were always mac-versions. really really sad to hear this. quake was a really big part of my youth, especially quake 3 arena.

    ----------

    well.. whats the news about that? q3a has full mac support out of the box. or am i wrong?
     
  24. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #24
    Here is what I did yesterday:

    I visited the ioquake site and downloaded the latest ioquake for OS X and installed it into my applications folder. Then I fired up a Windows XP virtual machine with Parallels and used Steam to download the copy of Q3A for Windows that I own so I could get a file ioquake needs from a legal owned copy of the game. I copied that file along with the key file so I wouldn't have to type my key in again (both files are in baseq folder and the key file has the word key in the name) into the appropriate folder in my ioquake install. This is all detailed in a read me file that comes with the ioquake.dmg file. Lastly, I copied over the Team Arena Mission folder too so I'd have that also since ioquake supports it too.

    It works beautifully in Mavericks 10.9.1 and there was plenty of active servers running dm, ctf, etc.

    How cool is that?

    While I was at it, I also got Hexen II from Steam and then took the relevant files from that to setup with a Mac OS X source port for the game which works great. It's retro but it's good fun.

    I was on a roll at that point so I continued on to grab my copies of the other Hexen and Heretic games I own on Steam and those ones I setup with Boxer.

    Any old MS-DOS stuff running in DOSBox on Steam doesn't have Steam DRM so you can move your copies into Boxer and as mentioned above retrieve certain files for use with source ports such as ioquake or Hexen II.
     
  25. Solomani macrumors 68030

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Alberto, Canado
    #25


    Funny that no one here mentioned the obvious…. that id Software founder John Carmack recently LEFT the company (a few weeks ago).

    John Carmack was one of the primary reasons why id games have supported Apple platform for a looooong time. With John gone from the company, it's a good assumption to say that there is no one left at id Software that gives a flying crap about supporting the Mac platform.

    Sad but true. Oh well, id is a skeleton gaming company nowadays. Won't miss them if they went bankrupt and shut down the company in the next couple years. Oh, and Merry Christmas. :p
     

Share This Page