Quake Wars 1.5 patch is out

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by nagromme, Jun 12, 2008.

  1. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #2
    WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT WOOT


    it doesn't show up in the built in updater, but whatever.

    162kbp/s!!!!!
     
  2. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
    It's a big update. Not much that's Mac-specific, but there are many gameplay tweaks, stats-tracking fixes, you name it.

    Full changelog:

    http://community.enemyterritory.com/index.php?q=node/254

    My favorite new features:

    "Players will no longer receive warning VO for incoming enemy artillery"

    "1.5 features a truly colossal number of bot-related improvements. In general, bots now understand the battlefield even better than before and will act more like a human player would. Your AI teammates have also been conditioned to pay more attention to what you're doing and they'll better support you in vehicles and when attacking objectives."

    "the in-game scoreboard once again correctly displays player ranks, so you can quickly tell who's experienced and thus safe to follow around in the game."
     
  3. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #4
    Yea

    It sucks, I have to wait until tomorrow to install, possibly, tomorrow night even. I can't get voice to work. In the settings, what should I put my microphone input as? I have a 24" Al iMac.

    Also, why isn't it showing up in the built in updater? Will it show up anytime soon?
     
  4. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #5
    Don't know. Maybe Activision has to do something on their central server before the in-game notice will appear.

    As for voice, I HEAR voice, but have never tested to see if I can broadcast. I assume it works--I haven't heard of any problems.

    The correct input would be internal mic, if that's what you're using.
     
  5. TFMTASAD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #6
    FINALLY!!!!

    Can't wait to play with you guys!!! The new patch is great. It's also much more interesting when you play against actual human beings.

    When I played on my mac version of ETQW, I had no problem with voice chat when I used my Logitech headset. I never tried the built-in mic though. If you want to be sure you can broadcast, try the different options and click on test, it'll record your voice. You can then play it back to see if it works.

    See you guys online!
     
  6. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #7
    I got the mic working, now its a lot of fun to play, I really want this update to come through the built in updater:mad:.
     
  7. Dan.Dare macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    East Angular, UK
    #8
    Yay!! Thanks for posting the link to the Aspyr download. Cheers Nagromme!:D
     
  8. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #9
    Where can I get the screenshots I made? I didn't do Shift+Command+3. I did the built one in the game, where do I fine those screens?
     
  9. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    ~/Library/Application Support

    Lots of game stuff hides in there. QW has its own folder.
     
  10. Dan.Dare macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    East Angular, UK
    #11
    Hi guys (you are all guys right?!)

    The new patch seemed to worked well last night There is a 'useful join best server' feature - which presumably takes you to the server with the lowest ping. Anyway it all seems fine. Look forward to causing mayhem with you sometime soon.

    One question - on the main menu screen (the screen with the Earth showing the Strogg fleet in orbit) I'm sure I used to have some kind of music or sounds but now its silent. The overally game volume seems to have dropped as well. Anyone else encountered anything like this?

    Also - anyone up for creating a maccers clan?

    Have a fine weekend!!

    DD
     
  11. Dan.Dare macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    East Angular, UK
    #12
    PS: stupid question - what key do I use for voip? :confused:

    Bye!
     
  12. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #13
    i
     
  13. Tastannin macrumors 6502

    Tastannin

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #14
    Blah. ETQW never has worked for me on my MBP 2.2 ghz. Always crashes on launching (bounces in dock then disappears). Does this update fix it?
     
  14. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #15
    "i" is fireteam voice chat--but what you most often want is probably team voice chat. Choose the key for that under Options > Controls > Misc.


    Better open a ticket under Support at Aspyr.com. I haven't heard of that happening to others, so it's probably solvable! A re-install may be needed, or a Repair Permissions (under Disk Utility). You could also try creating a new Mac user account to play under (or to re-install from) in case it's some issue with your particular account on your Mac.

    General troubleshooting for all apps: find the app Yasu on versiontracker.com and try running that.

    Troubleshooting that has helped OTHER games I've seen bounce once and stop: check the permissions on the game and its package contents. (Get Info on the app and make sure you can Read. Then Right-click it, Open Package Contents, and make sure you can Read everything inside too. The Get Info window can change all contents at once, if you need to add yourself for Read permissions.) This issue only comes up (occasionally) when I install a game in one account and try to play in another.
     
  15. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #16
    i is fireteam voice chat??? i have to do some fixing:eek:.
     
  16. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #17
    By default it is.

    If you're on a fireteam of 1, your talking to yourself :eek:

    Although the "pseudo-fireteam" of people on your same Mission might hear you--that I'm not sure of.

    PS, I thought I knew what the HUD triangles meant (red, green, white, cyan)... until today I saw a YELLOW triangle! And the Mac version of Quake Wars doesn't come with the Advanced Player's Guide, so I can't find documentation anywhere to explain the colors :eek: Mac users just get the little starter manual, and Aspyr said the other one isn't even online.

    Reminds me of the docs that come with a Mac...
     
  17. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #18
    here is the advanced player guide: http://qwtracker.com/faq/index.html

    well it worked for people on my same mission, I fixed it to team VOIP. And I am now using the fireteam feature, its very useful, I have it set to show up my default, i recommend the same for you.
     
  18. Dan.Dare macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Location:
    East Angular, UK
  19. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #20
    Thanks for the link. I guess even THEY don't know what the triangle colors are :eek: Health values I think.

    I haven't seen the FT thing used in really useful way yet (partly my own fault no doubt) but it sounds useful if you have a big enough team.

    PS, just started playing as Constructor--they seem like the busiest class of all! Except Engineer is probably even busier, with all the machine gun nests and assault ramps to build. Eight or ten tasks to choose from at all times.

    And I like it! However, just like with Tech, I find it a lot easier to be useful on DEFENSE than offense. So Infiltrator remains my favorite: always equally needed whether your team is attacking or defending.

    Bur JUST for defense, Constructor is probably my new favorite class.
     
  20. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #21
    I told you, busiest class, but what are assault ramps???
     
  21. nagromme thread starter macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #22
    If I was a human I'd have to know. But I'm Strogg so I don't :)

    All I know is I hear the GDF building them in certain maps. Refinery is one, I think. Not sure if they can be blown up again with plasma charges--probably so since they're not primary objectives.
     
  22. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #23
    I know, I hear it in refinery, but have no idea where it is. damn. This game is sooooo much fun.
     
  23. 1ncr3du10u5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #24
    That had me wondering for a second and I play GDF 99% of the time though on Refinery I play as Field Ops, Covert Ops then Medic.

    This is the Assault Ramp. :)
     
  24. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #25
    Yea, after looking around, it looked "suspicious" to me as if it was built, so I got it.

    I have been playing exclamation alot, this morning started at 4 people, so I got in, stayed in for a while too. Awesome awesome awesome. Best server lol. Great communication, using my mic alot, my ranking would have been higher but I just started playing ranked servers, I've gone up today a bit:rolleyes:. http://stats.enemyterritory.com/profile/173931?page=summary

    Cya guys on the serverss!
     

Share This Page