Quake Wars on Core Duo

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by titaniumdecoy, Mar 22, 2008.

  1. titaniumdecoy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have been waiting for months for Quake Wars: Enemy Territory to be released for mac, only to find out that my MacBook Pro does not meet the minimum system requirements.

    I have a 2.16 GHz Core Duo, but a 2 Ghz Core 2 Duo is required. Is there a big difference between the two processors? Will the extra 0.16 GHz make up for the difference? Will I be able to play the game or should I give forget about running it on my computer? Please let me know.
     
  2. Help! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #2
    You will probably be fine, try the demo.

    edit: Didn't read the part about the os x version, so i dont know if there is a demo. probably not what you want to hear but... bootcamp!
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    It should run fine on your MacBook Pro titaniumdecoy. :)


    Ironically, I was just playing this game on my Mac Pro (in Bootcamp) about an hour ago...
     
  4. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #4
    i'm in a similar sort of predicament. I've got a 2ghz CD iMac, but it only has a 128mb radeon X1600. I have a feeling it's not going to run all that well...
     
  5. titaniumdecoy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    #5
    I meet or exceed all the other system requirements, including graphics card, VRAM, etc. Even so, I would like to try the demo first but there doesn't seem to be one (yet?).

    The PC version of the game requires a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4. I don't know how that translates to Core (2) Duo chips.
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6

    A Pentium 4 (almost regardless of clock speed) is much slower than a Core Duo or Core 2 Duo processor.
     
  7. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #7
    i exceed the minimum RAM and VRAM req. with my first generation iMac, but i'm in the same boat with the regular core duo.

    I submitted a support ticket to Aspyr but I doubt they'll be able to tell me anything useful.
     
  8. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #8
    My guess is that you would be fine running the game as well. I would be more concerned about the GPU (which yours meets the requirements) that you have more than the CPU. :)
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    video card is more important than CPU for games

    i mean..its not like it won't start because you don't have a fast enough CPU, it'll just run a little slower. Try the demo and see how it runs.
     
  10. Dont Hurt Me macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #10
    10.5.1 is the key for U. That and extra memory for gaming:apple:
     
  11. Handycamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #11
    Does anyone know if this game has a decent single-player mode? I get too intimidated going out on open battlefields - and am usually killed within several minutes. I enjoyed Quake 4 for the Intel Mac and would like to just play against enemy bots. Some of these multiplayer-centered games provide only a limited number of maps (BF2142, for instance) and limited options/features for single player campaigns.
     
  12. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #12
    I think the only single player bit is with bots, instead of real players. There is no real campaign.
     
  13. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #13
    Hey guys, i contacted Aspyr support about running the game with an original core duo and they sent me a rather strange response.

    Hello Steven,

    Thank you for contacting Aspyr Tech Support!

    On Macs, Core 2 Duo and Core Duo are the same thing. According to your specs here, you meet the minimum requirements for the game so it should run. You are on the bare minimum though, so you may need to lower your graphics considerably to play well.

    Have a great day!

    Aspyr Tech Support



    Is it me, or is that very... wrong?

    And, IS there a mac demo? Because i have absolutely NO confidence in getting an accurate feel for how the game will run on mac by demoing the windows version : \
     
  14. 1ncr3du10u5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #14
    With regards to the Core Duo/Core 2 Duo question, maybe This might help. A quick google search found that.

    I rather think ASPYR wont bother with a Mac demo of QWs because it's quite an in depth game and probably not worth their time and effort.
     
  15. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #15
    You're right that's confusing. If there is no difference between a C2D and a Core Duo, why didn't they just put a plain Core Duo as minimum specs? Maybe its a typo in the specs? Maybe it was an intern that answered your email? lol

    There was a demo on the PC side, so I don't know why they would not put one out. Aspyr has put demos out for games like prey and quake4. However, they have been known to release demos after the game has already been out. I think, I'm not sure, it was something like a month after prey shipped that they finally put out a demo.
     
  16. KurtangleTN macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #16
    I don't think there is a Mac demo.

    I'm on a 2.0 Ghz C2D with the same crappy x1600 and in the Windows demo with low I'm normally around 25-30 FPS (which seems so damn slow compared to Wolf ET) but it's playable on medium but often it will be more around 20-25, high I was getting like 10 max.

    I'm getting the latest version of the demo to see if there is any jump up.
     
  17. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #17
    Quake Wars can play ALL the maps (12) and campaigns (4) offline with bot allies and opponents. You can customize the bots too: combat skill vs. strategy skill, number on each side (need not be balanced) etc. And if you want to complete all objectives yourself, you can set it so bots won't complete objectives, they'll just support you. Lastly, pointing at any bot in-game and hitting V brings up some quick orders you can give that bot.

    It's a great game and I highly recommend it (no demo yet, but we can hope). I have the Mac version. Note that the single-player component has very little story though: you don't even have to play the maps in order. It's not a game like Quake 4, though you may spot some familiar Strogg vehicles! QW is really the same game offline as online--and the bots are very smart (and about to get smarter with the 1.5 patch). I play on some servers with a mix of humans and bots, and it's not always obvious to me which are which!

    Also, I recommend going online: don't be intimidated, just die and learn and help the team any little way you can. Two tips:

    * Play Training Mode offline first. A voiceover will teach you the basic ropes. Then in multiplayer, there is some voice guidance as well unless you turn off "Tooltip Sounds."

    * Try being a GDF Medic. Run around clicking fallen bodies (ones that are "twitching") with your Use key (F, or you can assign a mouse button). You'll be doing good: clicking a friend revives them, clicking a foe makes them unrevivable. And clicking a glowing "host" body with the metal spines destroys an enemy spawnpoint. (If you feel like shooting, just aim at people with a red arrow (or no arrow) over their heads. Green or white is a friend.) That's all you really NEED to know to help your team.

    Before long you'll see your team is better off with you than without you, and even if you die a lot you may still have fun!

    I HATE playing most games online, except with people I know. I know just what you mean. But for some reason I feel the opposite with Quake Wars. For one thing, the community seems a little more mature than say, UT2004--but it's easy to ignore the jerks anyway.

    I found Quake Wars immediately addictive--and I totally expected to have a really tough, not-fun learning curve first. Well, I was right about the curve, but it was fun right from the start.
     
  18. Handycamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #18
    Enemy Territory: Quake Wars

    Nagromme......

    Thanks for your lengthy reply. I loaded Quake Wars on the MBP over the weekend and am just now getting use to the "playing field." So far, I enjoy it over BF 2142 for the following reasons:

    - the pace of game play is faster than BF 2142.
    - you have access, as you mentioned, to all of the maps and campaigns
    - there is a "training mode" that walks you through various aspects of the game.
    - the offline bots can be customized in number and "smarts."
    - the campaigns include individual objectives that need to be completed - it's not just a "free-for-all" capture the flag kind of thing.

    I didn't realize that you could play in a manner that allows you as an offline player to be the only one that can complete objectives on a map, with bots only in a supporting role. Can you explain how to set this up?

    I'll try the medic role as you recommend. Other than a wireless mouse problem, it runs flawlessly on the MBP.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Liam1313 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #19
    eh or you can be soldier and walk around blowing up vehicles with the RL:D

    for imacs it runs great on my 2GHz Intel Core 2 duo, 1 GB RAM, 10.4.11 ( YES TIGER NOT LEOPARD..weird.. ) imac
     
  20. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #20
    When you set up the offline game, choose "Custom" as the skill setting, and all kinds of other options will appear. The other skill settings are like quick presets, but you have a lot more control with Custom.

    As I spend day after day with QW I can see why people say 12 maps is plenty. There's endless subtlety and room for creativity. The maps are huge and feel like real places, with buildings and rooms placed not to make a "layout" (even though of course the were) but just because they're real places and that's where things are. If that makes any sense. So you can discover places to go that you might use to your advantage, which you never even noticed before. Kind of the opposite of, say, a UT2004 map, where every path and corner is designed into a pattern and you're meant to hold the whole map in your head with no dead-ends or wasted space.
     
  21. fblack macrumors 6502a

    fblack

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #21
    Nagromme, what do you think of the vehicles? I've only played the demo on the PC and find it challenging and addictive, but I'm having a bit of a rough time using GDF aircraft.
     
  22. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #22
    I think the vehicles (flying especially) will prove to be their own kind of challenge--almost like getting a whole new game, to be learned from scratch. A game I have not tackled yet :) I'll play with the aircraft offline sometime, but so far I have only done so briefly.
     
  23. 1ncr3du10u5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #23
    I know this question is addressed to someone else but I'd like to add that you should persevere with the aircraft particularly the Anansi as the greatest thrills in this game (in my opinion) can be derived from using these vehicles effectively and the Anansi is the better aircraft in a one-to-one with the Tormentor too.

    Also, there have been 2 Quake Wars flying competitions so far, the first called Dogfights and the 2nd called Wingman which I can't find a video of but basically involved teams of 2 competing against each other in the air which is immense fun, though tense I can attest. :)

    Oh, and I'd like to add that I'd be interested in possibly adding all Quake Wars Mac players and even helping out if anyone's interested. I play in game as 1ncr3du10u5 if you want to add me. :)
     
  24. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #24
    I do look forward to vehicles--and tricky as it is for beginners, I LIKE how they feel "floaty" and real.

    I'm on QW as Nagromme (surprise!) if anyone runs across me :) But be warned, I'm a beginner still. I tend to be in the middle of the XP list or lower, when playing on a public ranked server.
     

Share This Page