quality loss after upload into imovie 08

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Keeahskreations, Aug 12, 2009.

1. Keeahskreations macrumors newbie

The quality of my videos are horrible after they are imported into imovie 08. I am not sure if it is the camera or the settings somewhere in imovie. I am very new to video editing.
    My camera is a Sony DCR-HC26 Mini DV. The settings in imovie are at the aspect ratio 4:3, standard video NTSC, which is what the camera records in. IF I'm saying this correctly..
    I have connected the camera directly to the TV to see what it would look like and the quality is great, crisp. Once it is imported its grainy and detail is gone.
    Has anyone had this problem? I am prepared to buy a new camera, but would prefer not to since this one still works fine.. Please help.. :confused:

2. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

Since its a Standard Def camcorder, the quality will be good but not real great. Can you tell me when you import, what settings are you using?

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

You must be the 673rd newbie to panic over this "problem"? iMovie is an editor not a viewer. iMovie's preview function is an aid to editing. It is not intended to be used like a standalone viewer like the QuickTime Player or VLC.

Edit a clip. Save it. Play the clip in the QuickTime Player. Does it look OK? If so, then relax.

4. Keeahskreations thread starter macrumors newbie

Quicktime/settings

I do not have quicktime, and i am not going to buy it. I understand imovie is an editing tool. I have made several DVD's using imovie and the quality looks the same as whats in imovie, after it was burned to disc and played on a television.

Here is where my knowledge gets lacking.... The settings you are asking for,
    the only place I can see where I can change anything that has to do with the video is once its imported.. which its set for NTSC (the same as my camera). The import screen will not let me change anything.....