Quality of DVD Rips? I'm confused...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by JellyFish, Jun 23, 2007.

1. JellyFish macrumors regular

Hi all,

I have discovered Handbrake and I ripped the first DVD of the Fellowship of the Ring. How do you get the highest quality possible? I just went with the automatic settings. I also forgot to check the chapter thing to do there were no chapter markers. Oops.

I am very new to this and do not really understand what I'm doing. I bet you guess that already though, right? :D:rolleyes:

I am very excited about streaming LOTR over my Apple TV. Yes, I have the discs but I hate bothering with them. I want it all on a hard disk so I can stream it whenever I want it without bothering to put the discs in and change them and all that crap.

Thanks if you can explain some of what this stuff means. :)

2. JellyFish thread starter macrumors regular

Okay, I reripped LOTR Fellowship of the Ring at 100% quality (I think that was the setting) and it's almost 5GB!!! Wow! So the better it is, the bigger the file eh? :eek::confused:

3. JellyFish thread starter macrumors regular

Damn, Quicktime says the file can't be opened. I must have screwed it up somehow. Damn. :mad::(

4. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Try DVD Player, or VLC :)

5. JellyFish thread starter macrumors regular

I am reripping it with the Apple TV preset defaults. Duh. Maybe if I had just done that I'd have saved myself some aggravation. ;):p

Well, live and learn. It ain't easy being a newbie you know. ;):D

6. nlivo macrumors 6502a