Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

supermacdesign

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 1, 2006
Quark or Indesign a serious debate about the future. I was asked by the college I graduated from to participate in a board discussion about this matter. The debate is whether to keep teaching Quark and Indesign or the scrap Quark all together. They don't want to burden the student by having to purchase both and end up only using one in the workplace. They basically want to standardize.

Some of my questions for the fine folks in the forums:

Is InDesign better? Easier, is it making strides in the workplace and becoming the standard?

Is Quark developing a new version of there application and or are they going to fade away?

I personally have never touched Indesign but I only hear good things about it. I know that the adobe applications are seamless together and thats a huge plus. It also seems like Quark hasn't done anything innovative for years and are sloooow to change. Do they even want to? Any help or opinions on this matter would be appreciated. Thanks

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004
Learn both. Why restrict yourself?

Quark still holds at least a 50-65% marketshare.

InDesign is nice, but fiddly. Quark is great for doing basic stuff and forces you to build your documents in RIP-friendly ways...

Quark will still be around in 5 years time... InDesign will have even more marketshare by then.

There's no rush to settle on one. I use both depending on the project.

supremedesigner

macrumors 65816
Dec 9, 2005
I chose InDesign over Quark

I prefer to use InDesign over Quark. Why? Because I can import just .AI and .PSD files to InDesign (with out using .TIF or .EPS), and I can't over Quark. 2nd, it's easier to use it. 3rd, Quark sucks. They should go out of business though.:D

supermacdesign

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 1, 2006