Query on Parallels or Fusion on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by evirob, May 11, 2008.

  1. evirob macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    I'm currently running ACad 2007 on XP via Bootcamp on my MBA. I'm currently looking to purchase parallels/fusion as it makes no sense to reboot everytime I wanna access my mail and other work documents in iWorks.

    Therefore, I will like to check if MBA has the sufficient resources to run both XP with ACad via parallels/fusion and at the same run Mail, iWorks, and Safari on Leopard.

    Was actually looking to get the MBP but can't come to terms with carrying it around everyday as I commute regularly in Trains and I've loads of other stuff to carry.....

    Thx for any advice....

    Cheers
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 16GB: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    I run visual studio and SQL server in fusion regularly on my MBA alongside the normal OS X programs and it works great :)
     
  3. evirob thread starter macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #3
    Thx for ur input...

    So it should be ok.....Any issues with fan spinning at 6K rpm when u run these applications?

    What made u choose Fusion instead of Parallels? Cos both are ard the same price and I can't make up my mind which one to get...
     
  4. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    Depends what you mean by issues - if you push the machine hard, the fans do spin up, but I don't personally find it a problem

    I used parallels when it first came out, but moved to fusion as soon as VMWare released it. I prefer it because it separates the Mac from the PC really well, as opposed to the parallels approach which seems to try and integrate the two as much as possible. Also, I've used VMWare for years and have a fair few VMWare images that I can use with fusion.
     
  5. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #5
    I used them both, and found Parallels to be buggy. This was also months ago (eons in the computing world) so that's probably changed by now. I believe that both programs offer a free demo, so you can try both.
     
  6. aussieinrome macrumors regular

    aussieinrome

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Location:
    Rome, Italy.
    #6
    I use Parallels to run 3D Studio Max. I run it in coherence mode and it works like a charm (Open GL - Direct X doesn't work in 3D Max).
     

Share This Page