Question about 3G and when to have it on

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by busterbluth, Jun 21, 2008.

1. busterbluth macrumors 6502

As we all know, the ability to turn off the 3G will be an option on the new iphone, and this will be helpful for saving battery life. My question is; is there a point to having 3G on when you are not browsing the internet? why would you need the faster network while talking. I'm not very tech savvy, but it seams pointless to drain the battery while not on the internet. Any clarification would be appreciated. thanks!

2. I am Sampson macrumors 6502

I am Sampson

I wondered this. Seems very very odd that talking on 3G takes double the battery life of talking on 2G.
    Be a right pain to turn it on and off all the time, be nice if you can just set it to only use 3g for internet automatically.

Does 3G use more battery power when the phone is just in standby or listening to music? Or only when on calls/internet?

3. Niiro13 macrumors 68000

3G still uses battery when in standby or listening to music, but not as much as calls, and calls not as much as internet.

If you're not on the internet, there's really no point to use 3G. Sure, the call quality may be better (provided the other person is using a 3G phone) but it's not worth the battery drain.

4. busterbluth thread starter macrumors 6502

Thanks! I doubt it, but maybe there will be a setting option to only activate 3G during internet usage.

5. I am Sampson macrumors 6502

I am Sampson

I also would be surprised if they are wise enough to include this, but it will be very very annoying if they don't!
    My usage structure will be along the lines of:
    1 hr standby
    6 hr 30min music playback with 10 mins internet /texting every hour
    20 min internet/games
    9 hr standby / minimum text/games
    7 hour charge
    repeat

I'd like to think it could do this fairly easily even with 3G on. Do you think it'd need to be off?

6. Niiro13 macrumors 68000