Question about a new to me, but very old mac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by slewis1971, May 13, 2013.

  1. slewis1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #1
    Hello all

    I have a PowerMac G5 that is currently loaded with Adobe CS3

    The specs are:
    Model PowerMac 7.3
    Processor 2 Ghz PowerPC G5 (3.0)
    No of CPUs 2
    RAM 1gb

    Hard drive 150gb with 120gb free

    Operating system OS X 10.5

    Can I upgrade the Adobe CS suite to something newer, maybe even CS6?

    If not with the current specs, can this machine be upgraded to allow CS6 to run or is it simply too old?

    I have tried the usual queries in google etc but I am getting more confused.

    I suspect that my machine falls along way short of the official specs required for CS6 but then I read that the PC version will work on a computer running Vista on service pack 2!

    Help please
     
  2. mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #2
    http://news.softpedia.com/news/What...dobe-CS6-Mac-System-Requirements-267982.shtml

     
  3. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    You cannot run CS6 on a PowerMac, with out modification; it is intel only.
    I cannot talk about these modifications, even if it worked, it would be very slow due to the nature of the modification. A modification would be incredibly difficult and could take hours.
     
  4. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #4
    CS4 is as far as you go…It's a quality old mac that will run CS3 as fast as my new Mac will run 5.5. to quote the Beatles "let it be"


    **edit** please ignore the poster above me. Please ask in PowerPC section about his "help"
     
  5. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #5
    As already mentioned, CS4 is as far as you can go, but not the Master Suite as explained here. Starting with CS5, it requires Intel only processors. BTW, there is a PowerPC Macs forum more suitable for your question.
     
  6. slewis1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    #6
    Many thanks for your very quick answers. You have confirmed what I believed the answer would be. CS4 would be good enough for now, so I am now off to find a CS3 to CS4 upgrade package if one exists.
     
  7. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    You of course realize that you can get an Intel MacPro with about the same spec (actually 1.5 to 2 times faster) for between $250 and $350 tho right? And being Intel based it will run the latest versions of the Adobe products.
     
  8. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    Not in this country, $250 buys the computer he owns, and my Quad went for over $500
     

Share This Page