Question about AirPlay

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Discaciate, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. Discaciate macrumors member

    Discaciate

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #1
    Sorry for my ignorance, but I would like to know one thing about the Airplay feature:

    How does the connection actually works? Does it uses my Wi-Fi network or does it make a direct connection between devices?

    I ask because my room is a bit far away from my router and my Wi-Fi signal here is not that great. In that room I have a mac, and it's wired to that far away router. I want to buy an Apple TV to use in this room, mainly to use the Airplay mirror feature of Mountain Lion. Will the performance of it be bad because of the crappy signal?

    Not that I'm only asking about AirPlay. I'm pretty sure that the other functions that use the internet are going to be affected by that distance.

    My plan is to buy a signal repeater soon...
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    AirPlay uses your WiFi network. Hence, the name: AirPlay. Naturally, WiFi signal strength and reliability is an important factor.
     
  3. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #3
    I think he meant does it make a direct WiFi connection to the Apple TV or does it go through the router.

    The answer is it does go through the router since the Apple TV is not a repeater itself, just a wireless client.
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    you already have a signal repeater - your mac.

    just share your mac's internet connection over wifi and have the aTV join that..
    It will probably be a better and faster signal than what you would get from a wireless repeater somewhere in the middle of your house anyway.
    or get a network switch and hard wire the aTV also, which would give you the most reliable signal. (you could get something with wireless built in, if you don't want to run a cable to your TV)

    As David said it all goes through the main wireless base. wireless uses the "hub and spoke" layout of a wired network, but each branch is wireless.

    airplay will also work over wired ethernet, so maybe they should have called it Copperplay?
    Bluetooth also goes over air, so by your definition that would fall under the same name.
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    While it may work over ethernet, the name indicates the intended advantage of using WiFi:
    AirPlay doesn't work over Bluetooth.
    His question:
    Thus, my answer that it uses the WiFi network, which is accurate.
     
  6. Discaciate thread starter macrumors member

    Discaciate

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #6
    So I can use the "Mac as Repeater" route. Thank you for that.
    Thanks for all the replies too.
     
  7. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    If you are using ethernet to connect your mac - just buy a cheap 4 port hub and plug in your AppleTV too.
     
  8. Discaciate thread starter macrumors member

    Discaciate

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #8
    Not possible. The room is big and the TV is on a wall that only has an energy plug. So I would have to run the cable across the run, and thats a big no go.

    I guess I will just have to work harder in order to improve my Wi-Fi on that room. Not much of a hassle to be honest.
     
  9. Mikey86uk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #9
    another question.

    Is Mirroring available now, or do we have to wait for Mountain Lion?
     
  10. smellalot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    #10
    You'll have to wait.
     
  11. class77 macrumors 6502a

    class77

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #11
    Yes mirroring is available for both the iPad 2/3 and iPhone 4S. It's not available on the Mac until Mountain Lion
     
  12. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #12
    Sorry if this is slightly OT, but this is something I've been very curious about. If two Wifi devices are communicating, does all communication go through the router, or - once the connection is established - do the two devices talk directly?

    If everything goes through the router, it accounts for some of the lag when using Airplay in games. Instead of data being sent from iPad/iPhone to the ATV directly, it has an additional hop to the router as well, adding some latency.

    Someone suggested creating an iPhone Wifi hotspot, and connecting the ATV to that. I wonder if that might result in less latency, since there is no router?
     
  13. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #13
    Another alternative that hasn't been mentioned. You could use a powerline ethernet device. All you need are electrical outlets at your router and your TV. It's basically an "ethernet" cable that run along your electrical lines.

    It is kinda pricey, and the speeds aren't up to Gigabit ethernet speeds, but then again, the aTV is only capable of 100 Mbps over ethernet.
     
  14. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

    DavidLeblond

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #14
    I'm not sure. I know I've used a spare Airport Express to do Airtunes before while using a Time Capsule as my router though. Not sure if that helps.
     
  15. Diode macrumors 68020

    Diode

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #15
    Everything should be going through the router.
     
  16. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #16
    Interesting, thanks. Unfortunately, I only have an iPad 2 and iPhone 3G, so can't try setting up a hotspot to test their theory.
     

Share This Page