Question about Applecare - rMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by b06tmm, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. b06tmm macrumors regular

    b06tmm

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    #1
    Hi All,

    The right USB port on my early 2013 rMBP has died and I have Applecare.

    I upgraded to a Transcend 960GB JetDrive soon after purchase.

    My question is if I need to install the original SSD back into it before I make an appointment for service.

    Thank You,

    Tim
     
  2. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #2
    No. I had my 2011 MBP serviced a few times with my own 1TB in there and it was not a problem.
     
  3. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #3
    One caution. Make sure it has a backup. They also told me to make sure in case for some reason they had to reinstall the OS. Im not sure why they would do that for a USB issue unless they thought it was a driver problem but I would still back it up.
     
  4. b06tmm thread starter macrumors regular

    b06tmm

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    South Louisiana
  5. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #5
    Except with the 2011 the HDD/SSD was considered user-replaceable. This is not the case with the Retina units.
     
  6. Cuniac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Location:
    Phoenix
    #6
    ooo, you make a good point... Call them. Call a local Apple store, ask to speak to someone at the genius bar and see what they say.
     
  7. b06tmm thread starter macrumors regular

    b06tmm

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    #7
    Thanks hallux, seems like the best thing to do is put the original SSD back in it and restore the OS.

    Easy Peasy!
     
  8. b06tmm thread starter macrumors regular

    b06tmm

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    #8
    Just a followup, I got the rMBP back from Apple Care today and the all ports work as advertised!

    I put my JetDrive back in and after a little fideley work, got the computer to recognize the drive.

    Thanks Again!
     

Share This Page