Question about Baseband

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Ekim Neems, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. Ekim Neems macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #1
    I'm a bit confused about basebands... I cannot see my version because I am not jailbroken. I have an original iPhone from launch day (1.0 version OTB)... which was previously on 1.1.1 WITH jailbreak, but now is 1.1.3 NOT jailbroken. Does this mean my baseband has been upgraded to 4.6 or am I still on 3.9? Thanks!
     
  2. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #2
    the numbers you are using: 4.6 and 3.9 are the bootloader, not the baseband

    because you have a 1.0 OTB your bootloader will without a doubt be 3.9

    if you have a legit, 1.1.3 iPhone and didn't do anything strange with it your baseband should be 04.03.13_G.

    you can view this, it's called "Modem Firmware" under Settings->General->About
     
  3. Ekim Neems thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the clarification. I am still a bit confused as to what I can actually do when it comes to downgrading. So if I went back to 1.1.1, would I lose phone functionality? And if so, could I re-upgrade to 1.1.3 but with jailbreak and get my phone functionality back?

    Thanks so much.
     
  4. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #4
    Because you have the v3.9 bootloader, you may downgrade and retain phone functionality. (aka have your cake and eat it too)

    Check out hackthatphone.com for some nice guides.
     
  5. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #5
    guys, i accidently upgraded to 113 before noticing that the guide was for only Intel macs...im on ppc.

    now that i have a straight and unjailed 113 phone, with the new baseband, does this mean i cannot go back and restore to 112 and jailbreak again?
    i.e does my bootloader stay the same?

    My phone is a 743 1.1.1 ootb

    hope you can help... :)
     
  6. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    what bootloader will a launch UK iPhone have?
     
  7. LukeHarrison macrumors regular

    LukeHarrison

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Selby, UK
    #7
    4.6
     
  8. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #8
    not sure thats correct actually...

    i have a launch uk phone and im on 3.9 (week 43)
     
  9. LukeHarrison macrumors regular

    LukeHarrison

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Selby, UK
    #9
    I have heard of one or two 3.9 phones in the UK, but generally by rule of thumb, the UK phones are 4.6.

    How do you find out, if I may ask?
     
  10. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #10
    To find the bootloader version all you have to do is the following:

    1. Open installer.app, and add the source “http://hackthatphone.com/1.xml” (if
    you dont already have it…)

    2. Refresh the sources once more if necessary.

    3. Scroll to the “Hack that Phone tools” category, and install the program called “Baseband Information.”

    When you run the app, it will take a few seconds to query the needed information, and then will list everything you could possibly need to know..
     
  11. LukeHarrison macrumors regular

    LukeHarrison

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Selby, UK
    #11
    Just as I though, I'm a 4.6 :(

    A downgrade needs to be figured out for these as soon as possible, I want my phone back, I'm having to use my ****** old Nokia for now.
     
  12. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    if i dont have installer on my phone can i find out whoch bootloader i have?

    and is there any way to downgrade yet?
     

Share This Page