Question about Call of Duty 4

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by macuser1232, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #1
    After being a Mac gamer HATER for years(hating people who game on a Mac) and also not being a PC gamer at all(just console) I have finally gave in and am thinking about getting Call of Duty 4 for my Mac. Would COD 4 run well on my Mac? I have an early 2011 Macbook Pro i5 2.3ghz with 8gb of ram.
     
  2. Gomez315 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #2
    you should read up on the punkbuster problems with this game.
     
  3. monokitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
  4. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #4
    It's okay. We forgive you. Enjoy deluxe computing and gaming on the Mac. :D
     
  5. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #5
    Haha. I'm not a gamer! I refuse to game on a Mac. Long live Xbox! However, I will deluxe compute.
     
  6. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #6
    That works. ;-)
     
  7. macgames macrumors member

    macgames

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #7
    Should work well - I know people who used to game on that on 2009 13" MacBook Pros with much worse specs than yours - they didn't have settings on full, but they played it just fine.

    You have way above both the minimum and recommended specs (see here) so yes I would say it would be great for you.
     
  8. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #8
    I have a 2008 MBP and I can play it perfectly fine.
     
  9. macuser1232 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macuser1232

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    #9
    Yeah I've been playing it lately and it's running really well. The only problem is the fans but that's a given with the 2011 MBPs.
     
  10. alexreich macrumors 6502a

    alexreich

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #10
    I have a Core 2 Duo Mac mini and I can play the game fine. You shouldn't have any issues at all.
     
  11. MacGamerHQ macrumors member

    MacGamerHQ

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Location:
    Lyon, France
    #11
    Interesting feedback guys, is there anyone here that can run it with all settings maxed out with a decent frame rate?

    If you do, what specs do you have?

    Could be good to have as a reference for all wanting to try this game...
     
  12. Nuttydev macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol, England.
    #12
    I just put it on max setting to try it out and was getting 35-55fps with a 2010 21.5" iMac, 3.06GHz i3, HD 4670 and 8gb ram.

    It was playable, but not as smooth as you'd want in a first person shooter due to the frame rate being sub 60 and fluctuating.
     

Share This Page