Question about El Capitan partition

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by e93to, Oct 22, 2015.

  1. e93to macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I am interested in clean-installing El Cap on a 100gb partition on my late 2012 iMac (main drive is 10.8.5). Last year when I installed Yosemite on partition, it somehow became core volume (well known in this forum). So I had to input some commands on Terminal to fix it (as noted on this website: https://awesometoast.com/yosemite-core-storage-and-partition-woes/)

    I was wondering if El Cap will become core volume if clean-installed on a partition. If so, will the same method revert the main core volume back?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    I can't say for sure if El Capitan will install as core storage or not, but the same command will revert like it did in Yosemite.

    Code:
    diskutil cs revert /
     
  4. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
  5. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Well. It did make the new partition the core volume. However, the strange thing is that I can't select my main volume (10.8.5) as start-up disk!
     
  6. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Verified disk on safe mode (10.8.5), and it threw a bunch of error messages in red :( I didn't read too carefully because I was panicking, but it said something about wrong disk storage size and something being corrupted..
     
  7. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Can you command-r boot to recovery and try a disk repair from there?
     
  8. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    I did the repair in safe mode, and the error messages went away. When I verified the disk into recovery mode, no error messages in red shower up...

    I clean-installed recently and spent more than a week to set up my Mac exactly the way it was... These error messages leave bad taste in my mouth, so I'm gonna clean install again lol. This will be third time in a month, and hopefully third time's the charm.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    What are you having to reinstall over and over? Unless you have installed some third party utility causing this issue, the OS would not on its own just start throwing these errors. It almost sounds like you have a drive failing. Can you explain what symptoms you have had that made you want to reinstall over and over?
     
  10. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    I tried to delete a software, which required an uninstaller downloaded from developer's website. It didn't work. So I hunted down all the files one by one including the ones in system folders. This caused instability, so I clean installed 10.8.5

    For the second reinstall, it's purely for OCD reason. iPhoto brought down my freshly installed Mac (tried to remove 100gb of pictures, and then the Mac froze, and iPhoto locked up), which left bad taste in my mouth. So I clean installed again.

    Hard drive seems fine. Recently did multiple AHT consecutively, and no faults were shown.
     
  11. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Forgot to mention this. When trying to select 10.8.5 as start-up disk while on El Cap partition, it said something about "bless tool."
     
  12. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
    What could have caused these messages? I did the partition, installation and set up for El Cap thoroughly... I don't understand where it could have gone wrong
     
  13. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #13
    A failing hard drive can cause these sorts of messages to start to appear.
     
  14. e93to thread starter macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    Crap... I might as well buy a 1tb SSD, and use it as an external boot drive through thunderbolt
     

Share This Page