Question about file format and uploading to sites

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jmdfd415, Feb 16, 2009.

  1. jmdfd415 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #1
    Ok ive recently started taking photos and ive been trying out some hdr. Whenever I do them I save them as TIFF files but to put them online ive had to convert them to jpegs and when I do this I lose alot of detail. Is this just something Im going to have to live with? Is there a better way of saving these that im missing?
     
  2. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #2
    What software are you using to perform this conversion?
     
  3. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #3
    currently im taking my raw files and merging them to hdr then saving the file as a 16bit tiff and if i want to post it online i just open it in lightroom and export it as a jpeg
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Anytime you save to JPG, you're going to lose a lot of detail. It doesn't have the dynamic range of TIFF.
     
  5. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #5
    What settings are you specifying for the color space and jpeg quality on the export dialog in Lightroom? Are you applying any sharpening as part of the export process too?
     
  6. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #6
    I changed quality to 100 and left the color space on sRBG.
     
  7. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #7
    I think my edit was simultaneous with your reply - how about sharpening?
     
  8. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #8
    No the quality was the only thing I have changed when exporting in lightroom.
     
  9. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    I usually check the box to apply sharpening for the screen specifying a 'normal' amount on my exports. Can you post a sample that you're not happy with?
     
  10. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #10
    Can you explain where you choose the sharpening? I still new to lightroom.
     
  11. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #11
    It's on the export dialog just below the image size and resolution.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #12
  13. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #13
    Ok i just tried that and it didnt make a difference. What im losing is alot of the depth. The blacks are the main thing im losing and some of the color. Here is the pic as a jpeg it doesnt look anywhere near as good as the tiff file:(

    [​IMG]
     
  14. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #14
    ok so maybe i was wrong when i look at it on preview on my mac it looks bad but now once i uploaded it it looks normal. Am I going crazy haha?
     
  15. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #15
    Thanks Ill check that out.
     
  16. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #16
    It looks ok to me, but I can't see what you're seeing. What browser do you use?
     
  17. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #17
    firefox but it looks normal now that I uploaded it. Before i was just looking at it on preview and noticed the difference. Maybe preview is just setup dumb i dont know.
     
  18. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #18
    I've had no complaints using Preview to view sRGB images. Firefox has color management features now with version 3, but they have to be specifically enabled while Safari has always been color managed. You may want to view the image in Safari and compare it to the one in Firefox, just to rule out the browser as potentially contributing to your problem.
     
  19. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #19
    yeah safari looks just like preview so firefox def looks better thats strange I havent changed any settings in either one.
     
  20. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #20
    That _is_ strange. Firefox looked flat for me, until I turned on the color management features. If you open about:config in Firefox, what is the setting for gfx.color_management.enabled ?
     
  21. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
  22. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #22
    Here's a screencap.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. jmdfd415 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
  24. Cliff3 macrumors 65816

    Cliff3

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #24
    This is a link to the add-in that helps you control the color management settings in Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search?q=color management

    Images look identical for me no matter whether I view them in Safari, Firefox, Preview, Photoshop (CS3), or Lightroom. For your photo, I disabled color management in Firefox and it ceased to match Safari and Preview. I am attaching a screen capture of that. FWIW, my monitor is color calibrated using an Xrite colorimeter.

    I don't know what the right answer is for your system, but color management definitely appears to be an area for you to explore.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page