Question about Flash 10.1 for OS 10.4.11

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Queenredspecial, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. Queenredspecial macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #1
    I frequent a certain website for watching TV shows, and it worked fine until yesterday, when it informed me that I must download the new Flash. So I did. After successful installation, restarting and everything else I could think of, the site still will not work and tells me that I need to download the new Flash.

    What am I missing?! All other flash sites work just fine.

    Any thoughts?

    Mac Book Pro first generation, OS 10.4.11, Safari & Firefox, same problem.
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Did you grab Flash 10.2, rather than Flash 10.1?
     
  3. Queenredspecial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #3
    You know... I DID. What does that mean?
     
  4. Queenredspecial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #4
    UPDATE:

    I just found 10.1 and installed it successfully (after uninstalling 10.2)-- and that website still tells me "must have Flash 10.1". I really don't understand what's happening. :-(
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    Hey Queenredspecial:
    I see you're still having problems with one site in particular. Do you, by any chance, have one of those extensions installed that blocks Flash content until you request it (common examples are ClickToFlash for Safari and Flashblock for Firefox)? If you do, try disabling it for that site.
     
  6. Queenredspecial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #6
    Hey, thank you.

    I did disable ClickToFlash, but the same problem persists. It's as though it doesn't know that I've installed it already. Any other ideas?
     
  7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #7
    Since you're using Safari, try turning extensions off altogether before you visit the site in question. If that doesn't help either, then something else is amiss... but I'm not sure what.
     
  8. Queenredspecial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #8
    This might sound retarded, but... what are 'extensions?'
     
  9. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #9
    Using Safari 5.0.1 or newer? Then mosey on over to Safari's preferences. You should see a group for Extensions. There, you'll find a big ol' slider to turn extensions off/on.

    EDIT: The newest ClickToFlash is implemented as a Safari extension.
     
  10. nathanielonfire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    #10
    Safari 5 is not available for Tiger (10.4.11) and thus, neither are extensions.

    Did you use the official Adobe uninstaller app when you uninstalled/reinstalled?
     
  11. Queenredspecial thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    #11
    Yes. I downloaded it from the Adobe site.

    I'm using Safari 4.1.3 -- as Safari 5 is not available for Tiger.

    Any advice?
     

Share This Page