Home Question about HomeKit remote

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by Stromberg, Jul 21, 2016.

  1. Stromberg macrumors newbie

    Stromberg

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm on PB2 with my 6s+ and I also own a Apple TV with the latest public firmware (no beta).

    In the HomeKit-app a see the automation tab but I'm not able to trigger any scenario from remote. I was following the information that apple provided: disconnect of the appleID on the Apple TV, restart and reconnect. Disable iCloud for HomeKit on the iPhone and so on.

    I reckon that the actual developer version vor TV-OS is needed to get this functional.

    Is this correct? Or any thing else is happen with my setup?
     
  2. tony_glasgow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    I thought it needs the new (currently in beta) tvOS for this to work.
     
  3. Stromberg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Stromberg

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    #3
    Thanks for the clarification, than I have to wait for the public tvOS Release.
     
  4. GrumpyTrucker macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    #4
  5. Stromberg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Stromberg

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Location:
    Darmstadt, Germany
    #5
    I followed this instructions several times without success :-(
     
  6. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #6
    You'll need the beta version, and we're currently on beta 3. For things to work properly, you'll want to make sure all your iOS devices are on beta 3 as well.
     
  7. tony_glasgow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I might have been wrong about requiring the beta version of tvOS...

    I've been messing around with HomeKit and Xcode, and installed the Catalog sample onto my iPhone:
    https://developer.apple.com/library/ios/samplecode/HomeKitCatalog/Introduction/Intro.html

    This allows you fairly raw access to the HomeKit database. It does allow the creation of rules and so I created a rule within it (to turn my lights down at a certain time) and now the 'Automation' tab within the Home tab is working - I can see the rule and add new rules.

    As I haven't assigned any iPads to be the 'Home' controller I can only assume this is all working through my Apple TV with release firmware.

    All seems to be working just now and I can create rules on these actions:
    • My location changes
    • A time of day occurs
    • An accessory is controlled (lights turned on or door opened)
    • A sensor detects something (greyed out as I don't have any of these devices)
    Don't know if tvOS 10 will add to this list...
     

Share This Page