Question about iMac storage?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Devlin234, Apr 13, 2013.

1. Devlin234 macrumors member

I'm new to Macs. I don't have one yet but I'm thinking about getting my first Mac. I'm going to be getting the 27 inch late 2012 iMac. But I'm curious about the storage. I was thinking about getting a 3TB fusion drive but I've seen alot of threads/posts talking about how their hard drives failed within a month. My other choice would be the 768GB SSD but I would prefer the 3TB fusion drive. But my question is, are the people saying they're hard drive failed within a month just unlucky or is the 3TB fusion drive just more prone to crashing? Is there a specific hard drive that ships with the 3TB fusion drive that's not as efficient? Thanks! (BTW I'm relatively new to posting so sorry if I did something wrong)

2. All Taken macrumors 6502a

All the iMac models with either 3TB standalone or 3TB fusion all use the same drives - all that I have repaired have been 3TB Barracudas. The failure rate of these 3TB drives is exactly the same as any other, there is no faulty 3TB model at play in Apples current lineup. If you're unlucky enough to have a failed drive a backup is something you should always maintain and don't forget everything has 1 year warranty anyway. I'm sure you'll be just fine.

3. Ddyracer macrumors 68000

Ddyracer

I wouldn't worry about it. Get either the SSD or FD unless financially you can't.

The complaints are not major.

4. Devlin234 thread starter macrumors member

Thanks for the quick reply! I was also going to purchase the three year AppleCare. Does apple care cover hard drives that fail? And to back up my hard drive would you recommend time capsule?

----------

Thanks for the reply! Just out of curiosity (assuming you do own a Mac) what do you have storage wise for your Mac?

5. All Taken macrumors 6502a