Question about installing iOS 7 GM

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by ideal.dreams, Sep 10, 2013.

1. ideal.dreams macrumors 68020

ideal.dreams

I downloaded the GM of iOS 7 this evening and have a few questions.

1. I am NOT a developer - will this cause any issues?
    2. How do I go about installing it to my device? Would I option + click "update" or "restore" in iTunes?
    3. Will I have any issues that would make my phone unusable until 9/18?

Thank you!

2. 0000757 macrumors 68040

If you have to ask these, you should wait until next week. Anyways:

No
    If you want to update click update, if you want to restore click restore
    No

3. lordboogie macrumors member

Make sure you do an iCloud backup, because you can't restore your backup from iTunes unless you have beta 11.1 which is Mac on btw.

4. ideal.dreams, Sep 10, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2013

ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

ideal.dreams

If I use the update option, will it keep all previous data from iOS 6 (i.e. text messages, pictures, app data, etc)? I don't want to lose anything.

If not, and I have to restore it, am I able to download iTunes 11.1? I don't use iCloud backups.

5. Lifetimechaldo macrumors member

I would also like to know if doing the "update" option keeps all of my texts/pcitures/music (especially music since I cant sync it with iTunes bc I don't have 11.1 beta)

To the user above me, form what I have gathered, you need to be a developer to get iTunes 11.1 beta, and only on that version of iTunes can you do LOCAL syncing. iCloud syncing should still work on WiFi

6. Cougarcat macrumors 604

Updating does just that, updates. Doesn't delete anything. You should still back up of course.

7. ideal.dreams thread starter macrumors 68020

ideal.dreams

I chose update and got an error 6. It put my iPhone in recovery mode. Had to download iTunes 11.1 beta and restore from my previous backup. iOS 7 now installed and running just fine. So amazing!