Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smurray

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 12, 2008
I'm brand new to mac's, so I apologize if this is a dumb question. When I set up my new macbook I transfered about 16 gigs worth of pictures, and then imported them into iPhoto '08. I've noticed now that in my pictures folder, along with all my photos, is a icon iPhoto Library that is about 16 gigs in size. Can someone help me understand what the icon is? I'm assuming it contains all my pictures I imported into iPhoto. If this is the case, does that mean I'm storing two copies of all my photos now? I'm asking because I don't really have an extra 16 gigs to spare.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
The iPhoto Library is an example of a folder that acts as a single file called a Package. It actually contains many files and subfolders. Applications are also Packages. If you right click on it you will see a "Show Package Contents" that will let you explore the Package.

Sky Blue

Jan 8, 2005
The icon is your library. If you are storing the photos you imported somewhere else, you can just keep the library.

DarkHeraldMage

macrumors 6502a
Oct 5, 2007
Fort Worth, TX
The iPhoto Library is an example of a folder that acts as a single file called a Package. It actually contains many files and subfolders. Applications are also Packages. If you right click on it you will see a "Show Package Contents" that will let you explore the Package.

Though it's not recommended you do this. Once you've imported into iPhoto, it would be a VERY bad idea to go mucking about in the package itself. Edit the photos and move them around inside the iPhoto application. If you want to copy, email, or upload them, you can do it from iPhoto. If you move things around in the package itself, you run the heavy risk of corrupting it and losing everything. Tread lightly.

J

jmadlena