question about leopard and spaces

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rozner, Nov 14, 2007.

1. rozner macrumors member

Hi,

so first off, I'm a noob on OSX, been a long time PC user but just got my MacBook Pro today. So I've mostly got the hang of things. I've been playing with the Spaces thing which I understand is new to Leopard altogether. So I've been able to assign specific applications to spaces, but is there a way to do this on the fly, like without having to open the preferences page? I want to be able to just click a window, and "send it" to another space. Is this possible, or is the only way through the preference page?

Thanks

2. mnkeybsness macrumors 68030

mnkeybsness

drag your window to the edge of the screen (with your mouse touching the edge) and hold there until it moves.

it won't be assigned to that space, but it will be there for now.

3. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

Ok, to send a window to a particular space, there are a couple of ways:

1) Activate spaces by pressing F8, then you can drag the windows to any space you want.

2) Left click on a window, and while keeping the left click pressed, hit Ctrl+number (the number being whichever space you want). You will then switch to that space taking the selected window along with it.

4. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

i think launching a certain app in a specific space as its default setting can only be done in the system preferences. if, however, you're just concerned about moving an app or a window from one space to another, this can be done by dragging the window to another space (either by dragging and holding to the side of the screen or within the spaces birds eye screen).

5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

You can drag windows to the edge and if you stay there for a little while the space will change to the next one in that direction. Or you can click and hold the application window and use the shortcuts to switch spaces.

6. rozner thread starter macrumors member