Question about Logic 9 on Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by asimmd, Oct 14, 2012.

  1. asimmd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi All

    I know there is supposed to be an upgrade to the Mac Mini soon,but I was wondering about it's suitability to run Logic 9.

    In it's current config it has a Dual Core processor whereas the iMac has a Quad.

    Does this make any significant difference in running Logic?

    The reason I ask is that a Mini would suit me best considering the space I have,and I can also use my existing monitor/keyboard /mouse.

    This will be my first Mac although I do have an iPad3 which I love.

    Thanks

    Alan
     
  2. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #2
    Mac mini Server would be much better for Logic but it's almost twice the price of Mac mini.
    You don't need good graphics to work in Logic so don't look into the middle model.
    My advice? Get a base $599 model, buy 16GB RAM from Corsair or OWC and install it yourself. It should be good to go.
    If you feel like getting even more performance, get 120GB SSD for OS X and leave the original HDD for data. Have official repair center install it for you so you don't lose warranty.
    The best would be 2x120GB SSD inside the mini so you can use SSD for fast-loading tracks in Logic, I heard it does wonders.
     
  3. asimmd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Many thanks for the reply

    I was more concerned that the processor was only a Dual Core,but we don't yet know what the new model will be.

    I will get the extra Ram,and I was going to get an External HDD for storage.

    It will need to be a USB drive as the firewire port will be used for my interface.

    I will only be using the Mini for Logic,so I don't think I will need an SSD,least not yet.

    Alan
     
  4. comatory macrumors 6502a

    comatory

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #4
    I think the new base model will be dual-core as well. They'd have no reason to sell Server version if they put quads in the base models.
    Also, you can get thunderbolt-firewire adapter, so on the current model you'll actually have the ability to run two firewire devices, that is if you use HDMI for display output.
     
  5. asimmd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks again

    I will be using my Dell 24" monitor which is currently used on my PC.

    I will be using the HDMI convertor cable that comes with the Mini to use this monitor.

    As long as Dual Core is enough to run Logic,it's not a problem.

    I would hat ethem to announce Logic 10 and it nees more than a Dual.

    I will look at the Thunderbolt Drives,I know they are fast but some more research is needed.

    Alan
     
  6. Hessel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Renkum
    #6
    rightnow is a really bad time to go with a mac & logic pro.

    honestly, if you're buying it because you want the best option for making music don't get Logic and don't use OSX. Macs are alright hardware wise though.

    The latest version of Logic is really unstable and there will not be a Logic Pro 10. Apple stopped developing Logic.

    I have been a long time Mac user and hate to say this but I just can't deny that for most audio applications, windows 7 is much more stable.

    if you do get a Mac Mini you're better off installing windows 7 on it with Cubase or Studio One.

    However, if you really want to use OSX with Logic make sure that you DO NOT INSTAL THE LATEST UPDATES!

    9.1.5 is the latest ''stable'' release. (you have to manually download it from the Apple site)

    After that it only gets worse. In Logic 9.1.7 I couldn't even run 5 instances of the Logic EQ or it would freeze for like 40 seconds or simply crash. and I'm not the only one. this is a known problem.
     
  7. zangsax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #7
    Logic is fine

    I run 48 tracks including 6 instances of the play sample player loaded with orchestras and 1 gig pianos. , different effects on different tracks including convolution reverbs. Never any problems. I run OS 6.9 for my music because I have lots of plugins I don 't want to or cannot upgrade. Mac. Pro 8 x 2 . 26
    Gig processor with 4 monitors( 2 cards) and 4 1 gig HD 's .
     
  8. bobobenobi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #8
    Ignore every single word that Hessel posted. There's not a single accurate statement in his post, and he's likely just trolling.

    Logic (including version 9.1.7) runs like a dream on my late 2010 MacBook Air. It runs better on my 2009 Mac Pro, but it's fine on the Air. If it works on a two-year-old Air, it will probably run very well on the soon-to-be-announced Mini.

    I doubt that Logic X will require four cores, as Apple still offers many dual-core systems.
     
  9. Duckypoos macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    #9
    Ignore HESSEL ..

    Logic is running fine for me, and every other musician I know. I personally run Logic on a mid 2009 15" 2.53GHZ MBP with 8GB ram and a samsung 830 256GB and it absolutely flies through everything I throw at it, including Logic, Ableton, Komplete and as many plugins as I can be bothered with. Therefore you will have no problems getting up and running with a recent mac mini.

    :)
     
  10. thestickman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #10
    Logic runs great on the current Mini & will undoubtedly run fine after the hardware refresh. I previously owned a 2010 Mini & had few if any problems running 40+ track projects after I did a RAM upgrade to it.

    Currently waiting on the CEO/wife to give the go ahead for buying another one to run Logic, Studio One and Pro Tools on. For the $$$ I think Mini is best computer you can get these days. YMMV.
     
  11. bobobenobi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #11
    As you may have noticed, the Mini was recently refreshed. That quad-core looks appealing.

    Also, Apple just released Logic 9.1.8. http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1601 So much for Apple abandoning Logic!

    ----------

    That's quite odd considering they released version 9.1.8 on Wednesday, October 24th.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1601
     
  12. MetzoPaino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #12
    I'm looking to upgrade my computer because my Logic 9 & Native Instruments software experience is so frustrating. (I think it is more NI's fault than Logic though).

    Got an early 2008 MacBook Pro:
    • 2.5 Intel Core 2 Duo
    • 4GB DDR2 RAM
    • 5400rpm 250GB HD

    When I load up something like Kontakt 5 and Sessions Strings Pro (so GBs of audio samples) it can take FOREVER to load. Frequently up to 30 minutes.
    When I use many synths I get CPU Overloads, and it also crashes during playback because it can't write quick enough.

    Sometimes this doesn't happen though, sometimes it does. (I've already went through the process of "optimising" Logic's settings)

    Any advice from you fine folks about what is needed in my next machine to optimise my experience. Is i7 a necessity, 7200rpm HDD, 16Gb of RAM?

    Currently trying to decide between the new Mac mini, or a 21"/27" iMac. Many people on the forums are like "These are laptops in fancy clothes!", but I'm wondering if I got my laptop just before a big increase in computing power, and any new computer will be amazing.
     
  13. asimmd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Thanks for the replies guys.I wasn't taking any notice of hessel anyway,there are a lot of people using a Mini for Logic,it's just that this will be my first Mac and I need to be sure what I am doing is OK.

    I have decided to order this

    2.3GHz Mac mini
    2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
    4GB memory
    1TB hard drive1
    Intel HD Graphics 4000
    OS X Mountain Lion

    Will the 5400 HDD be OK with Logic9,I will need to install Waves GTR3.

    Hopefully the built in Compressor and EQ in Logic will be Ok.

    Are there any problems in me using my existing Microsoft Keyboard/mouse?
    Both are USB.

    Anything else I need to know?

    Thanks

    Alan
     
  14. MetzoPaino macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    #14
    If you're just using the built in Logic stuff then you should be fine. But if you keep going with music stuff and expand your needs you may have problems with the 5400rpm speed like I am having in the post above. You could either buy a faster 7200rpm drive or SSD and put them in yourself when the time comes, or try Fusion Drive.

    USB keyboard and mice are fine, even if they are from Microsoft.
     
  15. henchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #15
    Save yourself the extra cash, and get a 2011 mac mini server.
    I just got one, and it rocks.
    Logic 9 runs like a champ.
    And yes, you will definitely want the dual 7200 rpm drives for audio.

    Also, you can upgrade the memory to 16gigs for $70.
    Especially with programs that use VSTis, you'll want lots of RAM.
     
  16. asimmd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    Well there lies a question

    If I need to get a faster drive,I might as well get the base Mini,and use the money saved to get the faster drive.

    I do like my plugins,and I record my guitar directly into the DAW,using the plugins as real time effects while recording such as echo,compressor.

    I have the PSP608 Multi Echo which I use a lot,it's the first plugin in the chain on my Guitar Track,then GTR3.5 then a Compressor.

    I hope this way of recording works in Logic?

    Alan
     
  17. henchman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    #17
    Except that wont give you a quadcore i7. Which is what you want. And you will spend close to the price of a 2011 mini server.
    Which is why a used or refurnished 2011 mini server is Big Bang for the buck.
     
  18. tablatom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #18
    I have a 2012 2.3ghz macbook pro with 4 gigs of ram and a 5400rpm HDD.

    Its so powerful on a small Logic project the cpu meter in Logic hardly registers.

    5400rpm HDD will do you until you start doing big production logic projects.

    Your going to love the quad core mini.

    Make sure you run Logic in 64bit mode.
    To do this go to finder/applications/logic
    and then
    hold the command key and hit the "i" button to get info.
    Untick open in 32bit mode.
    And if you ever want to buy third party plug-ins get 64bit plug-ins. They are much more efficient on your cpu and ram.

    Logic is so efficient i can run 30 track projects on my wife's 2.3 i5 dual core 2011 mac book pro with a 5400 rpm HDD easy in 64bit mode.

    What you are getting is a little monster.

    Enjoy
     
  19. neodrew, Nov 5, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012

    neodrew macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #19
    Have to agree with everyone on the disk speed - 5400 RPM is fine for capture, but in my experience, it's slow for production of finalized tracks.

    I've been working with Logic 9 on my 2010 MBP for over two years now, recording church worship services on 16 tracks via mAudio Profire 2626s. When I started, I was running 8GB RAM with the standard 5400 RPM drive, and while I had no annoying problems with recording, production could get frustrating. Bouncing tracks, creating MP3s, etc could take a while.

    After several months, I upgraded to 16GB RAM, and that definitely helped shave some time off production. However, after I removed the stock drive, replacing it with an OWC 256GB SSD with a 6GB SATA connection and also installing a Seagate Momentus hybrid drive as my second drive volume, I noticed a SERIOUS speed improvement.

    Production times have been cut by at least half over what I had been getting with just the 16GB RAM update, and probably by 75 to 80% over the speed of the original setup.
     
  20. asimmd thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    I should say that I want Logic Pro9 for Audio,no midi.

    I use pre-recorded Backing Tracks which I then put guitar over.

    Sometimes the guitar tracks will run to 3 maybe 4,depending how many takes I do,but I mostly get away with 2 Audio tracks,and some Plugins.

    Plugins are Waves GTR3.5 - PSP 608 Multi Echo,and some of Logics built in plugins such as Compressor and other mastering tools.

    Of course I might in the future want to get into making my own backings,but when I can buy the ones I want so reasonably,I don't need the hassle of making my own.

    Alan
     
  21. tablatom macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #21
    I have the 2.6GHZ mini with 1TB 5400rpm drive.
    Did a test today and the internal drive shows read/write speeds 25% faster than my friends new MBP 2.3GHZ non-retina,
    which has a 500Gb 5400rpm drive.
    So size DOES matter with drives.
    I think you will find the stock 1TB drive will serve you well with Logic9 until you start doing 30 to 40 track projects
     

Share This Page