question about Microsoft Office 08

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by C00KiE, Jul 5, 2008.

1. C00KiE macrumors member

C00KiE

I'm still using 04 and basically use it for school. I need the 08 version because i am unable to open certain docs. I'm still new to mac and i read that there were problems with the 08 version. The last thing i need is to be working on a paper for 6 hours and have it crash and lose all my work. Is there any way to avoid this? Also, is there different kinds of 08 versions?

2. vandozza macrumors 6502a

vandozza

office 08 has had several (2 or 3) patches/updates since release.

i have been using office 08 on a macbook SR with no problems at all, for the last 3-4 months.

i would reccomend that you upgrade. there are different versions, but as a student, you should just buy the student/teacher academic version, i believe its licensed for 3 macs/users.

3. Chandler Adaway macrumors 6502a

Chandler Adaway

Aside from me doubting that it would crash in the first place, there is always a chance of it happening..
    So you could just do what I do and save the file alot.

I'm just paranoid like that because I have lost my work WAY to often.
    It's not fun.
    At all.

4. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

TwinCities Dan

Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
  5. chriscl macrumors 6502

chriscl

6. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

The latest update for 2004 can read the new 2008 formats. You may not actually need to upgrade.

Edit: *Adds chriscl to the list*

7. C00KiE thread starter macrumors member

C00KiE

Thanks. Goood! I don't have to buy anything. Now i just need to figure out what happened to my macbook so i can download that.

8. sushi Moderator emeritus

sushi

Looks like others have already answered your other questions.

Please allow me to address this. The method that I am going to describe, while a bit tedious, has saved my bacon and others on numerous occasions on both Win Office and Mac Office.