Question about monitor...

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by months, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. months macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Hey guys, this might seem like a stupid question but I tried asking the people at BestBuy this and they gave me a horrible answer, they didn't know what they were talking about.

    I have a Unibody 13 inch macbook, which obviously has a screen resolution of 1280 x 900. Say I buy a 20 inch monitor that has a resolution of 1680 x 1050 (maintaining the same 16:10 aspect ratio) does it MAKE my resolution to 1680 x 1050 when I hook my macbook to it, or does it make the 1280 x 900 stretched into 1680 x 1050.

    Basically, do I actually get more screen real estate, or is it just making my resolution fit into a bigger screen.
     
  2. milk242 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #2
    You actually get the resolution. The output of your mini display port can go up to 30" resolutions.
     
  3. months thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Awesome thanks
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #4
    Your MB will display the native resolution of the extra monitor. I've seen a few MB dual monitor setups and they all had the extra monitor @ its native resolution.
     
  5. months thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    So... what about my desktop background for example though? It is 1280 x 900, what is going to happen when I hook it up to the monitor with 1680 x 1050, is it going to have black space around it? Or will it stretch to 1680 x 1050?
     
  6. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #6
    It can do all sorts of things. Open System Prefs and go to Desktop Background. On photos that don't match your display's resolutions there will be a drop down box. Click in there for your options.

    There will be no black space.
     

Share This Page