Question about new "Back to..." arrow

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by mpavilion, Jun 28, 2016.

  1. mpavilion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #1
    I understand the "Back to [previous app]" arrow has been redesigned, and no longer covers up the signal-strength indicator dots. Does this mean that when you take a call while in another app, the arrow now appears on the call-in-progress screen (i.e., the dark screen that displays the name of the person you're taking to, elapsed time of call, buttons at the bottom, etc.)?

    If so, this will help a lot when I'm driving and a call comes in (it's currently hard to switch back to Waze after taking a call). I assume they don't currently include the Back arrow on the in-call screen, because they figure you may want to see the signal strength when on a call... so I'm hoping this is resolved in the new design? Thx
     
  2. critic81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #2
    If you are in an App and you get a phone call, you do not get the back arrow to that app in the top left of the status bar.
     
  3. mpavilion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #3
    :(
     
  4. rugmankc Contributor

    rugmankc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
  5. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #5
    I hate when this happens. I've missed upcoming turns because of it. And it's less safe that I have to fiddle with my phone to get back to the navigation app when a phone call comes in. The call screen could look like it does today, but when answering it should minimize to the top like when pressing the home button.
     
  6. rugmankc Contributor

    rugmankc

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    #6
    I thought mine did that as in the Maps minimizing to top. Worse case I thought a push on home button brought me to homescreen with maps at top. Will have to relook. I try not to answer if upcoming turns are pending. Let voicemail handle it.
     
  7. mpavilion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #7
    I've been using Launcher widget as a quick way to get back to Waze – pull down notification shade, and the app shortcut is right there at top of Today pane.

    But in iOS 10, I understand that pulling down the shade brings you first to Notification pane, and I'll have to swipe right to get to Today (an extra step)...
     
  8. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #8
    Back button would be nice but what's wrong with double home button multitasking? Difficult when driving?
     
  9. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #9
    You could go to multitasking and that will bring up the last app you were using that you can quickly select.
     
  10. mpavilion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #10
    Double-home button is indeed a little fumbly when driving. It was great having 3D Touch on the 6S; I could slide back to Waze with a hard-press/swipe from left edge. But on the SE (which I otherwise prefer in all respects), that's not an option.
     
  11. mpavilion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #11
    Btw... it struck me today (driving home) that Apple may not see this as an issue, b/c when you're navigating with Apple Maps and switch to a different app (i.e., take a phone call), you get the blue "Return to Navigation" bar at top of screen... just tap that to return to Maps.

    Google Maps does this too ("Google Maps is Using Your Location"). I wonder why this doesn't happen when you switch away from Waze – another third-party app using your location. Maybe Waze would have to enable it?
     
  12. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #12
    Google maps notification goes away immediately after entering home screen.
    Maybe I need to keep it navigating something to see blue bar staying on top.
     
  13. mpavilion thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Location:
    SFV, CA, USA
    #13
    Yes I think it stays when you're actively navigating...
     

Share This Page