Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jrs22

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 1, 2012
I have an OEM copy of Parallels 7 that I haven't used yet because I'm looking for a good price on windows. I learned through a post here that I'm eligible for a free upgrade to Parallels 8. According to their website I need to install the software to register it, so I'm wondering if there are any downsides to installing now w/o installing windows at the same time?

jrs22

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 1, 2012
Thanks. I had to install and register my software even though I have the activation key. It turns out the DVD came with an uninstaller.

I'm new to OSX and I miss the illusion of a formal uninstall process that comes with Windows, and a registry cleaner to repair the problems that are left behind. Does OSX even have a registry?

jrs22

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 1, 2012
Parallels responded to my upgrade request in less than a day. Uninstalling V7 was part of the V8 install process. It doesn't insist on opening at start-up so I can just leave it there until I buy Windows. I'm hoping there'll be sales on either windows 7 or windows 8 when windows 8 is introduced. I won't be using dual screens so I'm sorry it's causing you problems but it won't be an issue for me. I just need to run Microsoft Access sometimes.

Mal

macrumors 603
Jan 6, 2002
Orlando
Thanks. I had to install and register my software even though I have the activation key. It turns out the DVD came with an uninstaller.

I'm new to OSX and I miss the illusion of a formal uninstall process that comes with Windows, and a registry cleaner to repair the problems that are left behind. Does OSX even have a registry?